“age quod agis”

AlhamdulilLah

Adam and Daniel are used to hearing me say “If you are going to do something, you might as well do it right.” or ‘my motivational nagging’ as I called it! I’ve adopted the latin proverb ‘age quod agis‘ (“Do well in whatever you do”) as my personal motto.

I’ve always enjoyed taking photographs all my life, of my own two sons…thousands. But, this year, as I’ve begun to view my world through clearer eyes (and lenses!), I made the decision to improve the quality of my photos through choice of subject, awareness of lighting and perspective, timing and preparation. I always have my camera phone with me at all times and have been blessed on numerous occasions, capturing amazing photos, like that rare double rainbow or a pensive look in my son’s eyes.

Here are a few that I’ve taken over the years. I hope you will enjoy them as I have and I intend to improve my skills as I develop them, Insha’Allah. Thank you.

Image

I laid down on the ground at 40 Foot to capture the sea breaking against the wall, using only my phone. AlhamdulilLah, timing was perfect!

Image

This centipede was on the path I was walking and it was BIG! I was utterly fascinated by the number of it’s legs.

Image

Patience is all I can describe this photograph! The leopard was showing off, running and jumping around it’s enclosure before climbing up this branch and continuing to show off!

Image

Looking even more cuter!

Image

It took me a dozen attempts before I could get a photo of these roses on my window sill just right.

Image

The lighting in this photograph is overexposed, I think. But the subject, my neighbour’s cat, Wolfie and his pose was too irresistible to ignore.

Image

I have too many photographs of the boys sleeping but they look so peaceful and adorable! I love the freckles on Daniel’s cheeks.

Image

I honestly thought this was taken from a travel website, it just has a warm, beckoning look to it. This was taken on a holiday in Pangkor using a camera phone.

Image

Pangkor Island again, from the hotel. I know sunlight should always be behind me but the view was stunning and I just had to capture it.

Image

My neighbour’s dog was noisily munching his bone in the garden and he looked thoroughly engrossed in it, it was adorable!

Image

A rainbow over the James Joyce Tower, Sandycove. I REALLY wished I had a proper camera because the lighting, the view was just stunning!

About Sharena

My experiences as mother to Adam and Daniel, wife, daughter , teacher, trainer and friend has enriched my life to the fullest. Life is a journey of small steps through love, tests and contentment; fulfilling our role as khalifah makes it even more challenging and satisfactory.
This entry was posted in Human Development, Life, Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

