A Scholar to be understood

In the name of Allah, Most Gracious, Most Merciful

My train of  thoughts seem to be following a line on scholars, as seen from the last few posts on this blog. But, more specifically, I’ve been thinking more and more about Almarhum Professor Dr Muhammad al’Mahdi and the knowledge he left as his legacy to the world.

Yes. It wasn’t just the muslims he shared knowledge with but the rest of the world. Once, we were having breakfast on a Sunday morning and we talked about various topics. He told me he gave out 1000 copies of the Unified Theory of Existence book to his fellow peers and colleagues after he wrote it. I’m glad I found that out because I’ve always been suspicious when I come across books by well-known authors whose works are almost word for word Professor Dr Muhammad al’Mahdi’s Unified Theory of Existence work. I’ve said in the past, Dr Muhammad al’Mahdi had a gift of taking complex language and turning them into laymen terms, simple and easy to understand. Allahu A’lam.

It upset me very much to see how saddened he was by the treatment he received by a well-known young man who had planned to stay and study with him for several months. I knew Dr Muhammad al’Mahdi was excited and perhaps a little relieved that some of his knowledge would now be passed down to the younger generation but unfortunately ego and complacency got in the way of this happening.

There is an article written by Shaykh Yusuf Qaradawi on the passing of Grand Imam Shaykh Muhammad Tantawi, in which he acknowledged the respect and honour Shaykh Muhammad Tantawi showed to Dr Yusuf Qaradawi as the more senior scholar. This should be the correct manner between scholars and one that should have been observed by that young man. This view is from my own personal observation and Allah knows best.

Knowing that we, the Muslims, are sitting on an immense and invaluable body of knowledge that would help progress the conditions of not only Muslims but the world, weighs heavily in my heart and on my mind. I’ve spent the last few years trying to recall every little piece of knowledge given to me by Dr Muhammad al’Mahdi and doing my best to apply and share that knowledge on a daily basis.

At the time before Dr Muhammad al’Mahdi passed away on 29th April 2006, he was working on the workings of and the link between Aql (Mind), Qalb (Heart), Nafs (Base Desires) and Ruh (Soul). I’ve come to believe that this would’ve been a great breakthrough for us in understanding better how we can function naturally in this world. i.e. Dunya and the parallel dimension. I’m still trying to figure the best way to explain this but I know this is right because I asked Almarhum Dr Syed Muhammmad Naquib al-Attas and he agreed it exists and we should ‘co-exist within it’. Perhaps you can also listen to Dr Wayne Dyer’s works on ‘Intention’ being an energy we can utilise to benefit us to understand what I’m talking about a little better.

Please remember I’m just a layman and my writings and views are meant to stimulate the readers to seek out the rest of the knowledge themselves, not to be taken as concrete. Please remember I’m sharing because I’ve been given some understanding which has benefited me and I believe my experiences should be shared but when it comes to others taking this knowledge, I always remember (and I hope you will, too) that I will be questioned on the Day of Judgement if anything I’ve said has caused others to be mislead. It’s this fear that makes me be cautious about blogging and sometimes, I feel I should stop completely. May Allah forgive me if I’ve intentionally/unintentionally given incorrect information or caused misleading in any way in the past and in the future, Ameen.

I hope I can continue sharing my thoughts on Professor Dr Muhammad al’Mahdi in upcoming posts. Please let me know if there’s anything here that needs to be corrected.

Allah knows best my intention and action writing this post.


About Sharena

My experiences as mother to Adam and Daniel, wife, daughter , teacher, trainer and friend has enriched my life to the fullest. Life is a journey of small steps through love, tests and contentment; fulfilling our role as khalifah makes it even more challenging and satisfactory.
This entry was posted in Dr Muhammad al'Mahdi and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

