Love is…

BismilLah ir-Rahman ir-Rahim

Being incessantly bombarded by advertisements and messages promoting Valentine’s Day (Oof! I hate misplaced capitalism!), unfortunately my world view is very much influenced by it and my thoughts are on Love right now and this is just my honest view on what love is to me.

Love is having a big, fat grin on my face when the one I love says something funny or does something that makes my heart smile…

Love is the kiss on my forehead that I got from my dad a few years ago, a kiss which told me, “I’m sorry I wasn’t a better father for you but I’m so proud of who you’ve become now”…

Love is the pain of seeing the question in my son’s eyes, “Mummy, why are you letting me feel this pain?” and knowing there was nothing I could do to stop it…

Love is the feeling of being in a cocoon of safety and comfort, surrounded only by TLC…

Love is the humility I experienced and the awe I felt, standing in prayer, of Allah’s Mercy and Compassion…

Love is the sinking feeling I got in my stomach when I realised I was about to lose the most important thing in  my life…

Love is the loneliness I experienced, longing for companionship and care…

Love is the joy bursting in my heart when I see good things happen to the ones I love…

Love is the fear of  losing my mother before I’ve had the chance to repay her for everything she’s ever done for me… (I’m crying)

I owe my mum so much. She is full of love and concern for others.

Love is wanting so badly to give more of myself to help others…

Love is feeling my heart constricting painfully, wanting so much to meet Prophet Muhammad salla Allah alayhi wassalam…

Love is the kiss that hurt so much, it made me cry from the sheer joy of it…

Love is being held in someone’s arms and feeling safe…

Love is the overwhelming anger I feel when I see injustice, oppression and  abuse occurring to people who are vulnerable…

Love is watching my sons sleep and praying that they will be protected and guided throughout their lives…

I can only pray for safety and protection for them and hope they will always be guided to the Truth

Love is to me hurt, sadness, fear, joy, anger, humility, awe, longing, hope and faith.


About Sharena

My experiences as mother to Adam and Daniel, wife, daughter , teacher, trainer and friend has enriched my life to the fullest. Life is a journey of small steps through love, tests and contentment; fulfilling our role as khalifah makes it even more challenging and satisfactory.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

