The Price of Pain

BismilLah ir-Rahman ir-Rahim

The culmination of back to back illnesses i.e. 3 weeks of severe influenza and a gum abscess from an emerging wisdom tooth (finally!) made me reluctant to write a fresh post in ACESPIRETRIBE, thinking my judgement would be clouded from the pain I’m experiencing.

So, I had spent the past few days going over my pain experiences and the thought occurred to me, ‘What is the price of pain that I’m willing to pay?’…

There was no use moaning to the three guys in my house. Practical Guy i.e. husband only said,’ Go to the dentist!’. Motivational Guy i.e. Adam said,’ Mummy, think positive thoughts and let your mind take power over matter (the pain)’. And the best one, Empathic Guy i.e. Daniel just planted a wet kiss on my forehead and said,’ Hope you get better, Mummy.’

So, with my chin up and my shoulders back, I took my medication, laid down and made dzikr of Asma’ul Husna, Ya Nafi’. No more complaining of aches and pains (who would listen…?) and the cooking and cleaning continued albeit with frequent stops in between.

One woman, whose quiet struggle with cancer, has inspired me from the moment I heard her story. C. Vivian Stringer, coach of the women’s basketball team at Rutger’s University, battled through her cancer without telling anyone. She continued to manage her career, look after her disabled daughter and cope with her illness by herself. But what struck me was that she said she prayed a lot during those difficult times.

Teach children from a young age to constantly make du'a

I think pain helps us remember that we are not invincible, that no matter how good the drugs or the doctors are, only Allah subhana wa ta’ala can heal us and take away the pain. So, if the price of pain is remembering to turn to Allah for His Help and Mercy and putting our trust in Him, then this is one that I’m willing to pay. Allah knows best.

 

About Sharena

My experiences as mother to Adam and Daniel, wife, daughter , teacher, trainer and friend has enriched my life to the fullest. Life is a journey of small steps through love, tests and contentment; fulfilling our role as khalifah makes it even more challenging and satisfactory.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

