A reflection…

BismilLah ir-Rahman ir-Rahim

As we go on our life’s journey, it is necessary to regularly check on the amount and quality of the supplies that we bring with us. At the start, we may think we’ve brought all the necessary items, that they are still in good condition but we may find just as we need to use them, we find out that they are in short supply or even broken.

This is something I  experienced after living in Ireland for a few months. I thought, with the level of iman  and taqwa I had brought with me from Malaysia, that it would suffice for my journey in Ireland. It was not.

Harmful influences and experiences were constantly bombarding my iman and it was easily eroded, leaving me in shock to find just how thin my layer of protection really was.

But, Alhamdulillah, my foundation was strong. The powerful phrase ‘lā ʾilāha ʾillallāh, Muḥammad rasūlu-llāh‘ held me together throughout. The du’as I memorised, the dzikrs I repeated became my defence and my iman and taqwa held.

What I learnt from this experience is that we never really know just how strong (or how weak) our iman is until we find ourselves in a situation where it is constantly shaken and threatened. It is very easy to take our iman for granted living in a muslim country so we must always thank Allah subhana wa ta’ala for guiding us and keeping us in Islam because, as I have experienced, there are all too many people and influences ready to make us fall off the path of Islam.

May Allah keep our faith strong and cause ‘lā ʾilāha ʾillallāh, Muḥammad rasūlu-llāh’ to reverberate in our hearts and minds always. Ameen.

 

About Sharena

My experiences as mother to Adam and Daniel, wife, daughter , teacher, trainer and friend has enriched my life to the fullest. Life is a journey of small steps through love, tests and contentment; fulfilling our role as khalifah makes it even more challenging and satisfactory.
This entry was posted in Beautiful Islam, Human Development, Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

