My Hijra

BismilLah ir-Rahman ir-Rahim

I’ve been preparing myself mentally for the move to Ireland when it suddenly struck me:

I’m making a hijra (migration). Subhana’Allah!

When I decided to wear niqab in February, I was very clear in my mind and heart that I did it to please Allah subhana wa ta’ala. The very first day I wore it in public is a day a will never forget; it was on that day I truly understood that I am a muslim i.e. submitting my self to the Will of Allah subhana wa ta’ala.

I believe that, as muslims, we should expect to endure hardship and obstacles in our life, in order to deserve the reward (thawb) of Jannah.

Surah Al Ankabut, verse

2.Do men think that they will be left alone on saying, “We believe”, and that they will not be tested?

Surah Al Baqarah, verses

155. Be sure we shall test you with something of fear and hunger, some loss in goods or lives or the fruits (of your toil), but give glad tidings to those who patiently persevere,

156. Who say, when afflicted with calamity: “To Allah We belong, and to Him is our return”:-

157. They are those on whom (Descend) blessings from Allah, and Mercy, and they are the ones that receive guidance.

I know that in my journey towards progression as a muslim, I must not expect things to stay the way they are. I should accept being jolted out of my comfort zone and face different and difficult challenges, to determine if my faith is strong and unwavering.

Surah Al Baqarah, verses

147. The Truth is from thy Lord so be not at all in doubt.

148. To each is a goal to which Allah turns him; then strive together (as in a race) Towards all that is good.  Wheresoever ye are, Allah will bring you Together. For Allah Hath power over all things.

149. From whencesoever Thou startest forth, turn Thy face in the direction of the sacred Mosque; that is indeed the truth from the Lord. And Allah is not unmindful of what ye do.

150. So from whencesoever Thou startest forth, turn Thy face in the direction of the sacred Mosque; and wheresoever ye are, Turn your face thither: that there be no ground of dispute against you among the people, except those of them that are bent on wickedness; so fear them not, but fear Me; and that I may complete My favours on you, and ye May (consent to) be guided;

Surah Al Baqarah, verses

152. Then do ye remember Me; I will remember you. Be grateful to Me, and reject not Faith.

153. O ye who believe! seek help with patient perseverance and prayer; for Allah is with those who patiently persevere.

I recalled this song which I used to sing (years ago!!). It sums up how I’m feeling right now about moving to Ireland. Islam is beautiful and I am content. Alhamdulillah…

Satu Muharram Detik Permulaan
Perkiraan Tahun Islam Hijrah
Perpindahan Nabi dan Umat Islam
Dari Kota Makkah ke Kota Madinah

Atas Keyakinan dan Iman Yang Teguh
Kaum Muhajirin dan Ansar Bersatu
Rela Berkorban Harta dan Nyawa
Demi Menegakkan Islam Tercinta

Hijrah Itu Pengorbanan
Hijrah Itu Perjuangan
Hijrah Itu Persaudaraan
Hijrah Membentuk Perpaduan

Oleh Itu Mari Semua
Kita Sambut Maal Hijrah
Tingkatkan Semangat Tegakkan Syiar Islam
Untuk Sepanjang Zaman

Allah knows best.

Update February 2011: Allah only knows just how I felt having to take off my niqab living in Ireland. My sons, even though they knew my decision to wear it was a spiritual one, advised me that my safety came first. There were several incidents which had occurred to me here in Dublin that proved the logic behind their advice.

About Sharena

My experiences as mother to Adam and Daniel, wife, daughter , teacher, trainer and friend has enriched my life to the fullest. Life is a journey of small steps through love, tests and contentment; fulfilling our role as khalifah makes it even more challenging and satisfactory.
This entry was posted in Beautiful Islam, event, Human Development, Khalifah Way, Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to My Hijra

  1. kakchik says:

    Assalamualaikum.
    Oh, dear sister, are you really going to make hijra to Ireland? Feels like I haven’t make more efforts in getting to know you better after our last contact. And now you are moving so far away.
    Well, we have the technologies that can connect us isn’t it? In that case, I hope the friendship that we’ve built will always be cherished and nourished because I like being your friend.

    • acespiretribe says:

      Wa’alaikumusalam, Kak Chik.

      I just had to smile when I read ‘I like being your friend’. I like being your friend, too (even though we’ve never met!!) The brotherhood (or sisterhood) of Islam is so great that our love for each other is reached through the simplest of communication and contact. I love being a muslim!!

      My darling niqabi fashionista, you are my inspiration for being modest yet very much aware of my own personality and letting it speak (mutely) through my clothes. I promised myself I can bring 4 pairs of shoes to Ireland with me…

      I love you, my sister and may Allah keep you in His Guidance and Protection always. Ameen.

  2. Nur says:

    Assalammualaikum wbt,
    Actually I came across your blog accidentally when I was searching about khalifah method. Thank you kak (sorry I assume you are older than me) for posting interesting articles in here. I read from the posting above that your are going to Ireland. Actually, I am studying medicine here right now in Dublin. Now, I am in third year. Where exactly are you going to move in? Hopefully, we can meet in person as I am quite keen to know, learn and hear your experience. InsyAllah. Hope everything goes well for you.

    Regards from eire.

    • acespiretribe says:

      Wa’alaikumusalam, sister Nur.

      God is Great! Alhamdulillah, I am so happy to make your acquaintance. I just have to ask, “How do you know about Khalifah Method??” This is such a close, personal issue to my heart and to know that someone in Dublin is interested in Khalifah Method is really exciting for me. I don’t believe in coincidences…

      Insha’Allah, we are scheduled to be in Dublin end of June and staying in Dun Laoghaire, actually in Sandycove. I know it’s kinda out of the way from Dublin City but, hey!that’s what DART is for. I would love to meet up with you and introduce you to my sons, Adam and Daniel.

      I will email you before we leave, Insha’Allah. May Allah bless and love you always, my dear.

  3. hayati says:

    Assalamualikum.
    I really salute those who have the courage to wear the niqab. Hati ini teringin, tapi blum kuat… Insya Allah.. doa kan saya.

  4. Hijrah dalam keagamaan Islam bukanlah seperti migrating birds. Hijrah dari Mekah ke Madinah oleh Nabi Muhammad dan pengikut pengikutnya adalah untuk mekraj ke darjat arash yang lebih tinggi. Setelah mendapat darjat yang lebih tinggi lagi, maka kepulangan mereka dari Madinah ke Mekah telah diiringi dengan Nur untuk memberikan perlindungan dan pefrtolongan di dunia dan akhairat. Dari belum lahir, kemudian dilahirkan, dibesarkan, dididik dan diberi pebelajaran, seterusnya dikahwinkan dan diberikan anak di bumi bertuah Tanah Melayu yang melempah dengan Rahmatku. Nak berhijrah ke negeri lain, nak jadi Orang Puteh ke? Tidakkah kamu tahu bahawa Bangsa Melayu itu adalah selembut lembut Bangsa dalam seluruh alam ini jika dibandingkan dengan perwatakan bangsa bangsa lian. Tidakkah kamu tahu bahawa Ilmu Tawhid yang tertinggi sekali pada masa kini adalah di dunia sebelah sini mengantikan Bagadad se hinggakan orang orang Laduni dari Benua Arab seperti Hazaralmaut datang ke sini untuk mendalami Ilmu Tawhid ke tahap Cahaya dalam Cahaya. Tidakkah kamu bersyukur di atas lempahan Rahamtku kepada kamu dan keluarga kemu se hinggakan kamu hendak meninggalkan saudara mara dan sabahat handai sebangsa dan seagama? Ana Hu Ar Rahma Ar Rahimine yang mengasih dan menyangi kamu sebagai Orang Melayu yang hidup di Tanah Melayu.

  5. sri al hafeez says:

    assalamu’alaikum dearest,Allahakbar, u have taste the sweetness of iman by wearing a niqab. the act cleanses your soul and your thoughts.

  6. kakchik says:

    Cher, wherever you are please remember that you are still close in my heart. I wish we have more chance to meet in the future. I went to visit kak Ina a few days ago for the 1st time at her house. Usually we met either at my workplace, at my bookshop, at an usrah or at her school. Even though she’s just gone through a miscarriage, she looks very cheerful. And we talked a bit about you, in a good way insyaallah.

    I have a few things for you. Could you please email me your mail address because I wish to send them asap so that they’ll reached you before you go to Ireland.

  7. Roslinah says:

    Salam Cher, I miss you so much. Hope you are well in Dun Laoghaire. Lots of Love.

  8. Huda Engku says:

    Assalamualaikum Kak Cher,

    Kak Farah told me that you’re now in Ireland. I thought you were going to stay a bit longer. Was a bit surprised with the news and upset too, because I didn’t get to see you before you went off to Ireland, but Allah knows best right?

    Anyway, hope you’re doing great there.

    Take care Kak Cher.

    Love,
    Huda

  9. Umm Ruqayyah says:

    Wow, ma sha Allah tabarak Allah. I started trying out the niqaab when I was with sisters, it made me feel more comfortable. Then when I got married I started wearing it. Alhamdulilaah, my husband is Yemeni, and he really supported me with it. You know, many people, even muslims act avers. They don’t like niqaab, hate it or advice you to take it off because of the problems that might arise.

    I’ve made Hijra to Yemen and here it is very common to wear it! Alhamdulilaah!!!

    http://abeautifullifeinsana.blogspot.com/2010/07/beautiful-life-in-sanaa-yemen.html

  10. Pingback: 2010 in review « Acespiretribe's Blog

Leave a Reply

