It’s been awhile…

BismilLah ir-Rahman ir-Rahim

I stood during salatul Dzuhr and was reciting Al Fatiha when I heard and felt my stomach grumbling from hunger. It then crossed my mind that it’s been awhile since I remember being so hungry that my stomach would grumble. And then I remembered the Prophet Muhammad salla Allah alayhi wassalam himself experiencing days of hunger and I began crying…

Had I become too arrogant to feel my stomach grumble from hunger every so often..? Was I too posh to have sweat dripping down my brow from walking to the shops instead of taking the car..? Why was I becoming embarrassed to be wearing the same clothes day in and day out..?

I keep saying to myself, “I am a muslim. I follow Al Quran and the Sunnah.” Well, I guess I also have to accept the Sunnah of hardship and poverty as well as the Sunnah of spiritual, emotional and mental peace and clarity which has been shown to us by the Prophet Muhammad salla Allah alayhi wassalam.

“Oh, Allah! Your blessings to me and my sons have been too numerous for us to complain now about the difficulties  and hardship in our life. Oh, Allah! We accept (redha) with what is before us and beg You to continue blessing us with Your Mercy and Guidance and Rezqi. Ameen.”

I found this article after writing this entry but it was so relevant that I had to share it here. It was from Friday Nasiha: Issue 581

The Benefits of Trials and Tribulations

Some say, “Are not the hardships and afflictions that people face simply a sign that either there is no God or that God is not really a merciful one?” If one were to give thought to the positive effects of trials and tribulations, one would not ask such a question. Ibn Rajab mentions the following benefits of trials and tribulations:

1. Trials and tribulations are a means by which Allah removes sins from a person.

2. Facing trials and tribulations in the proper manner, with patience, is a great source of reward and Allah’s pleasure.

3. Trials and tribulations make a person recall the sins that he has committed. This should lead him to repentance and reform.

4. Trials and tribulations soften a person’s heart and make her submit to Allah. A person who never faces hardship may become haughty, arrogant and cold-hearted.

5. It is through trials and tribulations that a person can experience the characteristic of patience.

6. Trials and tribulations makes a person realize that he cannot rely solely on himself or even others. He can rely on Allah. Allah is the only true source of help and assistance.

After mentioning some of the above points as well as others, Ibn Rajab concludes that if the person truly realizes and understands the above, “he will know that the bounty that comes from Allah to a believer due to his trials is greater than the bounty that comes from Allah during his times of ease.

Compiled From:
Commentary on the Forty Hadith of al-Nawawi” – Jamaal al-Din M. Zarabozo, pp. 793, 794

About Sharena

My experiences as mother to Adam and Daniel, wife, daughter , teacher, trainer and friend has enriched my life to the fullest. Life is a journey of small steps through love, tests and contentment; fulfilling our role as khalifah makes it even more challenging and satisfactory.
This entry was posted in Beautiful Islam, Life, Prophet Muhammad (pbuh) and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

