Earth Day @ KMS

BismilLah ir-Rahman ir-Rahim

This is my 2nd wax Earth; I dropped the first one and it broke! That's the future of our real Earth unless we begin making conscious effort to care for it!

The 40th anniversary of Earth Day was celebrated on April 22nd, last Thursday. Since I am the Art substitute teacher at Khalifah Model School, I decided to do an activity that would help the students realise the importance of taking care of the Earth.

We took wax crayon shavings (blue for the ocean and green for the continents) and arranged them in the shape of Earth. Then, using a warm iron, we melted the wax crayon for it to bond together and waited for it to cool. Sounds familiar..? It’s the same process that real Earth was created!

As the children were doing the activity, we talked about how fragile the Earth is, just like the earth they were making and how easy it is to be broken. (I dropped mine and it broke!)

We talked about why it is important for us to fulfill our 3rd khalifah responsibility, which is to make the physical world clean and beautiful, pleasing to Allah and what we can do to take care of the the Earth. The children gave suggestions like:

  • water conservation
  • recycling
  • stop throwing rubbish all over the place
  • stop pollution of rivers and seas
  • growing more trees
  • stop plucking leaves and flowers from plants
  • caring for the animals
  • saving electricity

Alhamdulillah, I’m glad I found this activity because the whole process of making the wax Earth really helped teach the students about how delicate and special our Earth is and I was able to share references from Al Quran (Surah Al Mulk,verse 30) and hadiths (Do not waste water even taking wudu’ in a flowing river) throughout the process.

I found this post by a group of young men and I just had to share it here. My reaction..? “Wow! They’re still in school?They are so cool!!”

http://themuslimvoice.wordpress.com/2010/04/22/islam-and-earth-day/

About Sharena

My experiences as mother to Adam and Daniel, wife, daughter , teacher, trainer and friend has enriched my life to the fullest. Life is a journey of small steps through love, tests and contentment; fulfilling our role as khalifah makes it even more challenging and satisfactory.
This entry was posted in event, Generasi Khalifah (Transforming Generation) and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Earth Day @ KMS

  1. lol Haha. Jazakullah khair for sharing our post.

    • acespiretribe says:

      When I come across sites run by young muslims like you guys, I just have so much pride because in you, I see a better future for me and the world, Insha’Allah.
      Check out http://zainubwayfarer.wordpress.com , she’s cool and I enjoy her perspective on life.
      May Allah bless you and grant success in all your endeavors. Ameen.

  2. Jazakullah khair and Ameen.

Leave a Reply

