“Know thyself.” Socrates

BismilLah ir-Rahman ir-Rahim

I don’t believe in coincidences. With my mind still weighing heavily on what Sister Wardina Safiyyah said to the girls at Chit Chat Cintamu Untuk Siapa? seminar about ‘loving yourself first’, I went to the KL International Book Fair at PWTC and found Al Ghazali’s ‘The Alchemy of Happiness’ where in it, he talks about ‘knowledge of self’. Then later, I began reading Friday Nasiha Issue 573 and was amazed to find that is was about ‘knowing one’s self first’!

Surah Al Dhariyat, verse 20-21 ‘ On the earth are signs for those of assured Faith, As also in your own selves: will ye then not see?’

More often than not, we judged ourselves through the eyes of others instead of our own.

I am not a complete person unless someone loves me.

The person that I think I am is defined by my appearance/views/status in society/lifestyle.

Yet, Allah subhana wa ta’ala, in His Infinite Wisdom,  affirms our status in this life only by our piety and righteousness in His Eyes! Isn’t knowing this enough to make us turn our backs on the superficial standards of our society today..? Shouldn’t this knowledge inspire us to be closer to Allah Almighty..?

A person who knows his strengths and his weaknesses and is always striving to better himself has surely won a great battle. Because now, his thoughts, his actions, his speech and his personality is no longer determined or influenced by external factors of political and social indoctrination or commercial advertising and marketing.

It is only focused and directed on one thing; pleasing Allah subhana wa ta’ala.

Surah Al An’am, verse 162, ‘Say: “Truly, my prayer and my service of sacrifice, my life and my death, are (all) for Allah, the Cherisher of the Worlds:

 

About Sharena

My experiences as mother to Adam and Daniel, wife, daughter , teacher, trainer and friend has enriched my life to the fullest. Life is a journey of small steps through love, tests and contentment; fulfilling our role as khalifah makes it even more challenging and satisfactory.
This entry was posted in Beautiful Islam, Human Development and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Know thyself.” Socrates

  1. Pingback: Tales of the Heart « Acespiretribe's Blog

Leave a Reply

