A Tale of Two States (Of Mind)

BismilLah ir-Rahman ir-Rahim

Cognitive Dissonance

the mental conflict that occurs when beliefs or assumptions are contradicted by new information. The unease or tension that the conflict arouses in a person is relieved by one of several defensive maneuvers: the person rejects, explains away, or avoids the new information, persuades himself that no conflict really exists, reconciles the differences, or resorts to any other defensive means of preserving stability or order in his conception of the world and of himself.

[Britannica Concise Encyclopedia]

Every time I saw Prof, I received new knowledge, Alhamdulillah.

The first time I heard this term was during one of Professor Muhammad al’Mahdi’s lectures and it left an indelible ‘Flag-It’ note in my mind. But it was only on a day I underwent a paradigm shift (change in mindset) in my spiritual journey a few days ago that I finally understood what it meant.

That day, as I took my first, clear breath of understanding and enlightment, I realised all the uncertainties and conflicts I experienced and agonised over in the past were due to the cognitive dissonance occurring in my mind.

I am a muslim.

Surah Al A’raf, verse 172, ” When thy Lord drew forth from the Children of Adam- from their loins- their descendants, and made them testify concerning themselves, (saying): “Am I not your Lord (who cherishes and sustains you)?- They said: “Yea! We do testify!”

"It is a poverty to decide that a child must die so that you may live as you wish." Mother Teresa

But I live in a world where we have forgotten the Covenant (refer to the above verse) that we took with Allah subhana wa ta’ala and have made a choice to live according the the illusion that Shaitan has tricked us with i.e. Secular Materialisme.

Surah Al Hijr, verse 39, ‘…I will make (wrong) fair-seeming to them on earth, and I will put them all in the wrong,-‘

ChoiceSurah Al Isra’, verse 84, ‘ Say: “Everyone acts according to his own disposition…” ‘

So, it is no wonder that my life had been a crazy roller coaster ride of doubts, hope, despair, faith, belief, hedonism, misery, enlightenment, self-loathing, passions and the list goes on…

Islam (state of fitra) + Secular Materialisme (current state of the world) = Mental Conflict

The crazy roller coaster ride that is our life today...

But on the day I experienced an inner spiritual enlightenment about the person I truly am, I saw that the solution to the cognitive dissonance that was going on in my mind and heart was very simple…

Islam (original state of fitra) + Islam (living according to Al Quran and Sunnah) = Mental Harmony (Peace)

Surah Al Ikhlaas "I am ikhlaas (sincere) in Islam." (I accept submission to the Will of Allah)

Surah Al Tawbah, verse 71, ‘ The Believers, men and women, are protectors one of another: they enjoin what is just, and forbid what is evil: they observe regular prayers, practise regular charity, and obey Allah and His Messenger. On them will Allah pour His mercy: for Allah is Exalted in power, Wise.’

Surah Al Tawbah, verse 111, ‘Allah hath purchased of the believers their persons and their goods; for theirs (in return) is the garden (of Paradise): they fight in His cause, and slay and are slain: a promise binding on Him in truth, through the Law, the Gospel, and the Qur’an: and who is more faithful to his covenant than Allah. Then rejoice in the bargain which ye have concluded: that is the achievement supreme.

Allah is the Greatest. There is no doubt.

About Sharena

My experiences as mother to Adam and Daniel, wife, daughter , teacher, trainer and friend has enriched my life to the fullest. Life is a journey of small steps through love, tests and contentment; fulfilling our role as khalifah makes it even more challenging and satisfactory.
This entry was posted in Beautiful Islam, Brain, Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

