Khalifah Method: A Post from 2005

This was an an email I shared with parents on UmmikuSayang group in 2005 about my experience applying Khalifah Method.

Assalmualaikum. I would like to share my experience of using  Khalifah  Method of Parenting. I’m a mum of two boys, 4 and 5 1/2 years old and have gone through Dr. Spock, Miriam Stoppard, Penelope Leach to name a few parenting experts but have never been successful using their techniques. When I came across  Khalifah Method in middle of 2004, I immediately tried it at home. I sat watching cartoons with my son and a violent cartoon came on. I told my son that it’s not good to watch violent cartoons and we changed the channel. Two days later, my son came to me and asked to change the channel because ‘that violent cartoon was on’. My son, was at that time 4 1/2 yrs old. I was amazed that he could make the distinction (between good and wrong) and also remember it.

Adam and Daniel became very close to each other. (Notice the bottle of water nearby..? Encourage kids to drink water!)

Now, 10 months later, I’m proud to see my boys know about  Allah and His Creations (Adam is an expert on creation of the universe!), they accompany me during solat and my 5+ year old son even asked me to wake him up for fajr prayers, Alhamdulillah. They don’t fight or are rude to each other as before, they remember to mention Allah’s  Name before starting something and understand about good and evil and about Allah and Shaitan.

Daniel (4) once said,” Shaitan has little power but Allah has All the powers and He gave us some powers to fight Shaitan. (Al Quran reference: Surah Al Hijr, verse 29, ‘ When I have fashioned him (in due proportion) and breathed into him of My spirit, fall ye down in obeisance unto him.’)

It really helps when we remind our kids of the honor that Allah bestowed on Man by being His Khalifah. A little background information about my family-my husband is Irish currently working in Dublin and most of our and the boys’ friends are non-Muslims. My knowledge of Islam was not  much, but I’m learning a lot now. So, Khalifah Method was very helpful for me to introduce Islam to my boys in fun but effective way, too. I hope this  is helpful to you and may Allah reward you for your efforts to place Islam in your children’s hearts.

Peace in my heart knowing Adam and Daniel love Islam

About Sharena

My experiences as mother to Adam and Daniel, wife, daughter , teacher, trainer and friend has enriched my life to the fullest. Life is a journey of small steps through love, tests and contentment; fulfilling our role as khalifah makes it even more challenging and satisfactory.
This entry was posted in Adam and Daniel, Dr Muhammad al'Mahdi, Khalifah Method, Khalifah Parenting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

