A Great Yearning…

BismilLah ir-Rahman ir-Rahim

I was researching verses from Al Quran when an overwhelming yearning came over me and immediately I made a du’a:

Oh Allah! Make me a memorizer of Al Quran! Ameen

I cannot described entirely how I feel toward Al Quran except I sometimes imagine myself as a thirsty traveler in the desert yearning for water and every ayat I learn or read from Al Quran is but a drop of water for me; it keeps me alive but does not quench my thirst.

I know deep inside that the only way this thirst can be quenched is when I memorize every ayat in Al Quran. Just thinking about the possibility that it could happen brings tears to my eyes because I want it so badly. But every evidence points to this being an impossible dream. Everyone tells me that to be a memorizer, one must begin when one is very young, one must find a good teacher, one has to eat certain foods, have certain habits etc…

They inspire me...All three khalifah are in tahfiz schools now.

I do not believe this is a fact. I look to the times of the Prophet Muhammad salla Allah alayhi and his Companions. Many memorized Al Quran when they were old. They lived like we live and ate like we eat today (though perhaps with less junk food…). A command by Allah subhana wa ta’ala on such an important tenet of being a muslim i.e. to learn Al Quran must surely be accompanied by guidance and ease. Surah Al Baqarah, verse 286,’ On no soul doth God place a burden greater than it can bear. It gets every good that it earns…’

It becomes my choice, my free will to want to memorize Al Quran and I will have to do what is necessary to achieve this goal. In Al Quran, Allah subhana wa ‘tala said, in Surah Al Najm, verse 39,’ That man can have nothing but what he strives for’ and a good example of the Prophet Muhammad salla Allah alayhi wasalam can be found in this hadith:

One day Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him) noticed a Bedouin leaving his camel without tying it and he asked the Bedouin, “Why don’t you tie down your camel?” The Bedouin answered, “I put my trust in Allah.” The Prophet then said, “Tie your camel first, then put your trust in Allah” [At-Tirmidhi].

May Allah subhana wa ta’ala ease for me, my path and my effort to memorize His Glorious Words. Ameen.

About Sharena

My experiences as mother to Adam and Daniel, wife, daughter , teacher, trainer and friend has enriched my life to the fullest. Life is a journey of small steps through love, tests and contentment; fulfilling our role as khalifah makes it even more challenging and satisfactory.
This entry was posted in Beautiful Islam, Human Development, Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

