Khalifah Way of the Generasi Khalifah (Transforming Generation)

BismilLah ir-Rahman ir- Rahim

Recently, a participant told me through the training I was conducting, she had learnt to see her standard should be khalifah standard i.e. Khalifah Way and not the ‘so-so/ala kadar’ standard she thought she was before.

This khalifah way or higher standard is part and parcel of being khalifah of Allah.  In Japan, this standard is known is ‘kaizen‘ or continous and gradual improvements and this what had made Toyota rise from the ruins of World War II to become the world’s number one automaker today.

A khalifah always strives to improve himself. In other words, always does what he can to perfect himself. He knows he cannot be perfect because only ALLAH subhana wa ta’ala is Perfect but just imagine the level he will have reached if he just aims for perfection! Excellence in it’s absolute form, Insha’Allah…

The Khalifah Way

So, as a khalifah, my mind is always aware (peka) to my surroundings, externally and internally, on how I can improve it. If I’m in a room and there’s litter on the floor, I, as a khalifah, will pick it up and throw it in the bin. If I feel depressed, as a khalifah, I need to go take wudu’, recite Al Fatihah or any surah/make dzikr, listen to nasheed or Al Quran/ drink water/ hug my sons etc. I’ll do what I need to do to lift myself up from that depression. What I cannot do as a khalifah is sigh and say to myself, ‘Why is this happening to me..?’ and whine or complain about it.

Ibn Qayyim once said, “You should repulse a thought. If you do not do so, it will develop into a desire. You should therefore wage war against it.If you do not do so, it will become a resolution and firm intention. If you do not repulse this, it will develop into a deed. If you do not make up for it by doing the opposite thereof (the opposite of that evil deed), it will become a habit. It will then be very difficult for you to give it up.”

Allah subhana wa ta’ala gave me Free Will to choose how to react to the influences and events that occur in my life and I have to always remember He Made me His khalifah (Surah Al Baqarah, verse 30) and He Made me excellent (Surah At-Tiin, verse 4) so I will have failed Him and the amanah He placed upon me if I do not challenge and push myself to achieve the Khalifah Way in all that I think, do, say and in my actions.

The Khalifah Way- Self Control (they achieved 15 minutes without moving or talking!)

ALLAH subhana wa ta’ala knows best.

About Sharena

My experiences as mother to Adam and Daniel, wife, daughter , teacher, trainer and friend has enriched my life to the fullest. Life is a journey of small steps through love, tests and contentment; fulfilling our role as khalifah makes it even more challenging and satisfactory.
This entry was posted in Generasi Khalifah (Transforming Generation), Human Development, Khalifah Method, Khalifah Way and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Khalifah Way of the Generasi Khalifah (Transforming Generation)

  1. Nur Aqilah Hanis Mohd Yusoff says:

    salamunhi’alaik, i’m very interested on khalifah method and trying to implement it to my students.

    • acespiretribe says:

      Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh.
      Alhamdulillah,may Allah bless you for your interest. Khalifah Method application in the class starts with you first. Believe in the potential of each student, even though the student is considered naughty/stupid/can’t pay attention. Find out more why the student is like that. Maybe there are external factors e.g. tired/sleepy/hungry/depressed etc. Nurture (belai) trust of the students in you but be firm in enforcing the boundaries (batasan) that you set. Tell me more about your classes in an email and I will reply in full, via email or blog post.

Leave a Reply

