Beautiful (and fun!) Islam

Bismillah ir-Rahman ir-Rahim

While doing a quick muhasabah (self check) after night prayers this morning, I smiled, remembering a recent conversation with a good friend (May ALLAH always bless her) who said, ‘Kak Cher, you make practicing Islam, fun, effortlessly!’

We were sharing stories about how we would utilise Asma-ul Husna and dzikr in different situations; while waiting in line at the bank (don’t you just hate that??), stuck in a traffic jam, in pain or feeling upset or low. We were laughing together when we realised we did the same things to manage certain situations or behaviors.

I think we don’t laugh or be happy enough in our Islam. There is too much (planned and programmed) negative views of Islam surrounding us that sooner or later, we begin to believe that being a muslim is hard and Islam is difficult to practice.

Islam is the simplest way of life I’ve ever experienced. I’ve never felt so centered, calm, sure and inspired as I have been since I began loving Islam. Just trying to describe how I feel brings tears to my eyes, because there aren’t any words that can describe the longing, the faith, the certainty I have for Islam.

I do laugh and smile and sometimes, my heart sings for the beauty I have seen and experienced of Islam. There is pain, too; the pain of living in a world that has too much pain and suffering. As a muslim, seeing and knowing this, I must feel hurt for them otherwise, it would just make me into a cold, unfeeling person. There are doubts; when lack of correct knowledge and unnecessary emotions causes me to stumble in my journey as a muslim, Shaytan comes in and whispers into my ears, encouraging me to go astray. A’udzubilLAH.

But I always remember that ALLAH never gives me a burden I cannot bear ( I am His khalifah) and that He gave me tools to utilise when I need it; His Names and dzikr, Al Quran and the examples of His Prophet and Messenger, Muhammad salla ALLAH alayhi wassalam.

Who could ask for more..? Life is beautiful, Masha’ALLAH.

About Sharena

My experiences as mother to Adam and Daniel, wife, daughter , teacher, trainer and friend has enriched my life to the fullest. Life is a journey of small steps through love, tests and contentment; fulfilling our role as khalifah makes it even more challenging and satisfactory.
This entry was posted in Beautiful Islam, Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

