The Strangers in Islam

Bismillah ir-Rahman ir-Rahim

This post started out from ‘That’s what Family is for’ but as I wrote on, it became clear that it needed a separate post all together. I wanted to explain why it was so easy for Daniel to want to nurse Adam and why I was shy and reluctant to let him at first.

I’m reminded of several former students of mine, who, after accepting they were khalifah of Allah, choose to want to fulfill their khalifah potential and responsibilities. But sadly, they were not allowed to even though there were opportunities for them do so.

I had a group of ACE Camp students who wanted to stay an extra night so that the next day, they would be around to help teachers prepare for a major school event.  They weren’t allowed to do so, on the grounds that it would be too hard on the students; they wouldn’t feel strong after; it wasn’t necessary. I couldn’t believe it. I asked the students and they assured me they would be okey and that they WANTED to help the teachers instead of joining the event later on. They felt sad and upset they weren’t allowed to help the teachers.

There was another student of mine (he is a true example of a khalifah in my mind and I pray my sons will be just like him) who embodies the khalifah potential so well, it has caused hardship for him. He is strict with prayers and when athan for prayers has been called, tries to get everyone to immediately prepare for jemaah prayers. And his effort backfires when the others don’t have the same mindset as him, and prefer to continue what they’re doing. I can understand how he feels; confused, can’t understand why they won’t just get up and do prayers, even though they’ve been taught khalifah potential, too.

I’ve seen it countless of times with Adam, when he reminds Daniel or me to do something that should be done and we’re not doing it! Both Adam and that boy have a higher standard way of thought and practice, from being khalifah, that it’s separated them from the rest of us. And this is okey…

It’s okey because we know those who truly are muslims are strangers to the rest of us. Their khalifah potential standard is such that we don’t understand it when they do things their way but the khalifah way is really the best way, even if it means being alienated by the majority. The Prophet Muhammad salla Allah alayhi wasalam said,

“Islam began as something strange, and it shall return to being something strange, so give glad tidings to the strangers.” [Muslim]

I have to keep reminding myself, ‘Let them be. It may be difficult or hurt them now but I know they are on the path of Islam (submission to the Will of Allah) and may Allah Almighty cover them with His Mercy and Guidance, Insha’Allah.’

Life is beautiful, Masha’Allah and I am blessed to be able to see it, Alhamdulillah.

About Sharena

My experiences as mother to Adam and Daniel, wife, daughter , teacher, trainer and friend has enriched my life to the fullest. Life is a journey of small steps through love, tests and contentment; fulfilling our role as khalifah makes it even more challenging and satisfactory.
This entry was posted in Beautiful Islam, Khalifah Method, Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

