That’s what Family is for

Bismillah -ir Rahman -ir Rahim

In the name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Compassionate

The last 24 hours has taken a toll on me. I only managed to snatch a bit of sleep here and there last night and feeling the effect this morning. But Adam said, ‘Alhamdulillah, I’m feeling much better today.’

Alhamdulillah. The credit must be given to Daniel, though. From the very first, Daniel decided to do something himself to make Adam feel better so he prepared a light snack (on a tray!) for Adam. He prepared a bowl of cold water and wiped Adam’s forehead and changed the water several times throughout the day. Daniel even set up a movie for Adam to watch later in the evening.

I didn’t ask Daniel to do any of those things and they were everything that I was doing myself but Daniel decided he wanted a hand in nursing his sick brother. I was a little shy at first to let him do those things but I remembered that he is a khalifah and here were several opportunities for him to fulfill his khalifah potential (a higher standard way of life).

I have to keep reminding myself to accept the outcome of the children’s upbringing as khalifah, because I had taught them their khalifah potential and responsibilities. Even if it does seem like a burden to them. Allah knows best.

About Sharena

My experiences as mother to Adam and Daniel, wife, daughter , teacher, trainer and friend has enriched my life to the fullest. Life is a journey of small steps through love, tests and contentment; fulfilling our role as khalifah makes it even more challenging and satisfactory.
This entry was posted in Adam and Daniel, Khalifah Method, Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

