Respite and some relief

Bismillah ir-Rahman ir-Rahim

Alhamdulillah, I read 22 suras today, I made myself sit and read and not stop reading till the I reached the end. In the midst of reading, I felt a lifting of the heaviness of my heart and thought, ‘This Al Quran is my lifeline. Without it, I wouldn’t know what I have in my life that was unchanging, stable and that I really, really need to read it all the time.’

It was then I realised that I had been taking Al Quran for granted. Al Quran is the true guide for the muslim way of life, so if I am to call myself a muslim, then reading, understanding and utilising the quidance in Al Quran must be an intricate part of my daily life.

I remember reading a post in My Blessed Home’s blog where the children ‘had finished their daily Bible study’ and thought, ‘I don’t do that even for myself!’ I don’t take the time to study Al Quran every day. I don’t even read it every day…

So, now I know that I have to set aside a specific, consistent time for reading and studying Al Quran every day. It’s not only for gaining knowledge but also to gain respite and some relief from the negative thoughts and influences going through me.

I hereby intend to read and study Al Quran for 20 minutes (small step in the Shaping Process) after Subh prayers every day after any of the 5 daily prayers (which ever is the easiest), beginning tomorrow, Insha’Allah. May Allah Almighty grant me the courage and strength to follow through on my intention consistently and thoroughly.  Ameen.

About Sharena

My experiences as mother to Adam and Daniel, wife, daughter , teacher, trainer and friend has enriched my life to the fullest. Life is a journey of small steps through love, tests and contentment; fulfilling our role as khalifah makes it even more challenging and satisfactory.
This entry was posted in Beautiful Islam, Khalifah Method, Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Respite and some relief

  1. Roslinah says:

    Salam Cher, I too have begun to read the Quran after my tahajjud (since last Ramadhan) and while waiting for fajr prayers. I find it very therapeutic. I also try to read after Maghrib. I love hearing my voice reciting the Quran. Once I start, I have to force myself to stop now.I hope to be able to understand the meaning too but starting to read is a step for me. Masha ALLAH, it’s beautiful, isnt’t it?

    • acespiretribe says:

      Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh.
      Alhamdulillah! I love hearing stories like yours, always brightens up my day.
      May ALLAH continue to shine His Light of Guidance onto you and you family. Ameen.

Leave a Reply

