In search of PRIORITIES

‘Read! In the name of thy Lord and Cherisher, Who Created-‘

Surah Al Alaq, verse 1, the first Revelation

Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh, my dear brothers and sisters.

Working in an environment of active social change, there sometimes is a tendency to take for granted our duty to fulfill salaah or other compulsory acts of ibadaah first..

The false misrepresentation of the value of our social work has caused us to think that “It’s okey to delay prayers first; the work I’m doing is for Allah’s sake/ for the betterment of the Ummah/ for the good of mankind.” This is what we usually say to ourselves to justify delaying our compulsory responsibilities.

But honestly ask yourself, “By not doing my compulsory responsibility first, am I not actually undermining the value of my work? Aren’t I actually losing out on more barakah or I’m even earning Allah’s subhana wa ta’ala Displeasure by failing to fulfill my compulsory duties first in favour of this social work that I am doing..?”

I learnt a valuable lesson as a Mary Kay beauty consultant a few years ago. The company’s rule of ‘God first, Family second, Career third’ had helped me to realise what the priorities in my life are. This plus my newfound yearning for a simpler life has directed me to the truth in my search of my priorities in life.

Allah subhana wa ta’ala and Al Quran; Prophet Muhammad salla Allah alayhi wa salam and his Sunnah; my husband; my sons; my parents and family; my maid and my friends; Khalifah Method dissemination; seeking of knowledge; helping the miskeen and displaced (homeless and family-less); earning money to support my family, disseminate Khalifah Method and help the miskeen and displaced and helping the people of Palestine.

The list is a little longer than I realised but I am satisfied with it. Now, I’m going to create a Khalifah Journal to jot down and track my progress achieving my priorities successfully, Insha’Allah.

About Sharena

My experiences as mother to Adam and Daniel, wife, daughter , teacher, trainer and friend has enriched my life to the fullest. Life is a journey of small steps through love, tests and contentment; fulfilling our role as khalifah makes it even more challenging and satisfactory.
This entry was posted in Khalifah Method, Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

