An old skill, in a new today

‘Read! In the name of thy Lord and Cherisher, Who Created-‘

(Surah Al Alaq, verse 1, the first Revelation)

Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh, my dear brothers and sisters.

My mother was (and still is!) an important influence on my life as I was growing up. She gave me a classical education upbringing and exposed me to various opportunities to learn study skills and techniques.

One skill that I learnt which I still use to this day is visualization techniques. When I was still in school, before any examination, I would close my eyes and visualise myself going through the process of taking an exam. Reviewing the subject, preparing my stationery, walking to the exam hall, sitting down and taking the exam.

That is why, while the other students were doing last minute cramming before entering the exam hall, I would be calm, centered and focused on the exam itself. Alhamdulillah, this visualization technique helped me in scoring higher grades in my exams.

Even though I no longer have to take exams, I still use this simple visualization technique to help me achieve some small goal. I would like to share one way on how to use visualization technique.

This morning, I woke up at 5.15 am and thought, ‘I don’t want to get up for prayers.’ But I still sat up and began to visualize “I see myself getting up, going to the bathroom, taking my shower, doing my wudu’ and doing my prayers. And this will bring me closer to Allah subhana wa ta’ala.

Well, that clinched the deal!(the bit about being closer to Allah) I immediately got up and did everything I had visualized moments ago! I know myself and I can honestly say that without doing the visualization technique first (and by the Will of Allah), I would have never gotten up to do my prayers. And I even managed to read a bit of Al Quran before the athan for Subh was called, Alhamdulillah.

Do try this for yourself. When you need to do something but procrastinate or avoid doing it, close your eyes and visualize yourself doing that thing first. You’ll be surprised to find how easy the task becomes after that, Insha’Allah.

About Sharena

My experiences as mother to Adam and Daniel, wife, daughter , teacher, trainer and friend has enriched my life to the fullest. Life is a journey of small steps through love, tests and contentment; fulfilling our role as khalifah makes it even more challenging and satisfactory.
This entry was posted in Brain, Human Development, Laws of Learning, Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

