A Fishy Tale…

‘Read! In the name of thy Lord and Cherisher, Who Created-‘

(Surah Al Alaq, verse 1, the first Revelation)

Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh, my dear brothers and sisters.

I walked into the living room to find our kitten with it’s head in the aquarium. The aquarium doesn’t have a cover so the water (which the kitten likes to drink) and the fishes, are easily accessible.

I didn’t panic, but instead sat next to the kitten to observe it. It just was interested in the water dripping down from the pump! It was trying to catch the water and wasn’t interested in the goldfishes at all. Last night, I found the kitten in my bathroom sink, trying to catch the water dripping from the tap so I now understand this is a cat who likes water…

This kitten has challenged every preconceived ideas I have about cats. From hating water to liking (to catch) goldfishes. It’s done the opposite. I remember finding both Adam and Daniel in the bathroom, trying to teach the kitten how to swim in the bathtub! I was more scared for the kitten than it was for itself…Giving the kitten a wash is the easiest job that even Daniel has done it himself on his own.

The kitten likes to climb the grille gate on our balcony doors, right up to the top AND doesn’t need help climbing down. It’s very inquisitive and curious, investigating it’s surroundings and not afraid to make friends with our rabbit or my sister’s cats. One thing I was happy to notice is the amount of water the kitten drinks every day; I have to refill it’s water bowl twice a day. I believe that’s why the kitten’s fur is so soft and shiny.

Our kitten even likes going on trips in the car with us so if we are going to my sister’s or popping into the shops, we will take it along with us and it’ll sit or play quietly in the car.

Looking back, I realised that our kitten had gone through several Shaping Process steps to become what it is now. I started taking it for car rides from the very beginning, without the use of a cat carrier, talking gently to it and cuddling the kitten in our arms as the car moved.  At first, when we started giving the kitten a wash, it was scared of the water but I made sure the water was warm and the process itself, very quick. I would give it a lot of praise while washing it and rewarding it with cat treats after. Starting to sound familiar..?

Though I did use Khalifah Method with the kitten to get it to use the litter properly, I honestly did not plan to use it other than for that purpose. I guess Khalifah Method is so embedded in me that I unconsciously use all the time, even with my interaction with the kitten. And it seems to work, Masha’Allah. Just imagine the amount of success and the impact  Khalifah Method would have on understanding, intelligent human beings…Allahu Akhbar.

A story that started out as a fishy tale in the end became a story of Khalifah Method’s effectiveness in shaping a behavior or character, even if it was just in a kitten. My goal to disseminate Khalifah Method becomes clearer and stronger at every point I see it succeeding in a Shaping Process.

About Sharena

My experiences as mother to Adam and Daniel, wife, daughter , teacher, trainer and friend has enriched my life to the fullest. Life is a journey of small steps through love, tests and contentment; fulfilling our role as khalifah makes it even more challenging and satisfactory.
This entry was posted in Khalifah Method, Laws of Learning, Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

