The Simple Life

‘Read! In the name of thy Lord and Cherisher, Who Created-‘

(Surah Al Alaq, verse 1, the first Revelation)

Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh, my dear brothers and sisters.

Last night, as I prepared to fall asleep, these words ‘the simple life‘ flashed through my mind. No, I wasn’t thinking of Paris Hilton’s and Nicole Ritchie’s reality show but about the kind of life that I wanted.

Living in a secular materialistic world, it seems inevitable for us to want (and need?) material possessions in our lives. It’s almost become a driving force for us to work to own things. There are now several virtual reality sites, like ‘Second Life’ that cater for people who love to buy things but don’t have the money. Using virtual money (USD40 is approx. equivalent to 50,000 Linden money-yes, you still need REAL money!), they will shop, shop and shop to their heart’s content. I don’t quite understand why anyone would want to spend their hard-earned money to buy things that aren’t even real but I suppose it just reflects the ‘I want more things’ mindset prevalent in our world today.

But for me, as I get older (I’m 32), I begin to yearn for a simpler life. I’ve begun to ask myself, ‘ What do I want? What are my principles in life? How do I get what I want? What will change if I get what I want? ‘ As my priorities start to shift, unnecessary aspects of my life also begin to move away out of my life.

People and situations that were negative influences on my thoughts and my life seemed to recede slowly away and I was left with people and situations that strengthened me and made my journey towards my bigger goal, easier and clearer.

My husband, my sons,Adam and Daniel, my mother and my father, my family, my work disseminating Khalifah Method, my friends who share my love for Allah subhana wa ta’ala and His Messenger, Muhammad, salla Allah alayhi wassalam, our first reliance on Al Quran and the Sunnah as our guidelines to life.

A short walk with my boys, a chat in bed together, looking up at the sky and feeling the breeze on our skin…I realised we rarely go to Suria KLCC or other shopping malls now. Any trips we make to an air-conditioned building must be educational, preferably scientific like the National Science Center or the Planetarium. It’s these simple things that are important to me now and I find it is more than enough to make me feel fulfilled and worthy.

Not the latest Chanel handbag or BMW model. Not anymore…Allah knows best.

Life is really simple, but we insist on making it complicated.
~ Confucius

About Sharena

My experiences as mother to Adam and Daniel, wife, daughter , teacher, trainer and friend has enriched my life to the fullest. Life is a journey of small steps through love, tests and contentment; fulfilling our role as khalifah makes it even more challenging and satisfactory.
This entry was posted in Beautiful Islam, Human Development, Khalifah Method, Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

