A cup of coffee

‘Read! In the name of thy Lord and Cherisher, Who Created-‘

(Surah Al Alaq, verse 1, the first Revelation)

Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh, my dear brothers and sisters.

I was working on the computer when Daniel brought me a cup of coffee. Masha’Allah! I felt shy that my ‘not yet’ 9 year old son would do this for me when I never asked for it.

But, as I sipped my coffee, I began to think of past experiences where the boys would surprise me or their father with such examples of filial piety (in service to their parents)

I remember Adam asking his father if he could get anything for him; a glass of water or a snack. I know that Adam would do Brain Gym on me if he sees I’m stressed (tapping my forehead gently). Daniel uses play dough to make me pretend rings and bracelets. But I think the thing that I value most that the boys give me is their hugs.

They will surprise me with hugs whenever they feel like it and in the past, I was embarrassed when it happened in public but a friend of mine told me kids, especially boys grow out of this phase quickly enough, so enjoy it while it still lasts. It only strengthens the love of the child for his parent.

I know my goal is to be a great khalifah mum but even after all these years of Khalifah Method in the home, I still haven’t accustomed myself fully to the implications of it’s success; that my children would express their love and devotion for their parents in ways that we only read about or could only imagine in the past.

My boys aren’t better than any other kid out there; this isn’t a case of ‘my child is better than yours’ but the more I see of my boys’ examples, the more  I feel it is possible for every child to behave the same way and I believe this would strengthen the family unit thus strengthen the community, Insha’Allah.

Would you agree..?

About Sharena

My experiences as mother to Adam and Daniel, wife, daughter , teacher, trainer and friend has enriched my life to the fullest. Life is a journey of small steps through love, tests and contentment; fulfilling our role as khalifah makes it even more challenging and satisfactory.
This entry was posted in Adam and Daniel, Beautiful Islam, Khalifah Method, Khalifah Parenting, Laws of Learning, Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

