Learn from children

‘Read! In the name of thy Lord and Cherisher, Who created-‘

(Surah Al Alaq, verse 1, the first Revelation)

Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh, my dear brothers and sisters.

The other day, while waiting for Adam to make a purchase, Daniel and I sat at a table with Lego and started building. Let me tell you straight up that I am not good with Lego at all! I am constantly amazed seeing the boys’ Lego creations; ships, buildings, robots. You name it, they’ve built it.

So, I decided to try building something. I stacked up the Lego to make a staircase (I told you I wasn’t good! LOL). I had to use pieces to reinforce the staircase so it wouldn’t fall and my staircase kept going higher and higher. Soon, Daniel was showing me the ‘creative part’ of building with Lego. He started adding pieces at the beginning of the staircase and it became a gate. Cool! He added pillars near the gate and pieces at the side of the staircase so it became a safer staircase and finally added a platform at the top of the staircase so it became a launchpad for a rocket! Masha’Allah, it just started as a simple staircase! It was one of the most fun time I had with Daniel in a long time but he took my ‘education’ very seriously. He was focused on showing me how to build with Lego and I think he’s done a pretty good job of it.

We, parents, are meant to learn from our children. It just makes sense. Because through watching them play, interact, resolve issues and living life, we learn what is important in life. A child’s perspective is very clear; they are closer to the state of fitra which they were born with. So, they just seem to know how to do things. When Daniel was showing me how to build with Lego, he wasn’t laughing at me or saying I wasn’t good, he encouraged me and corrected me. Now that is a great teacher!

We spend countless hours staring at manuals, studying for exams. Isn’t our children the biggest test in our life? Why is it then, we are not staring at them and studying them..? Exams and tests can be repeated but bringing up our children successfully is a once-in-a lifetime test. This is one test where the results are up to you. Choose to pass with flying colors or fail¬†miserably.

Enjoy your children; learn from them. They can teach you a lot, in ways you’ve never even thought of.

Life is beautiful, Masha’Allah.

About Sharena

My experiences as mother to Adam and Daniel, wife, daughter , teacher, trainer and friend has enriched my life to the fullest. Life is a journey of small steps through love, tests and contentment; fulfilling our role as khalifah makes it even more challenging and satisfactory.
This entry was posted in Adam and Daniel, Khalifah Method, Khalifah Parenting, Laws of Learning, Life, parenting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

