The other day…

‘Read! In the name of thy Lord and Cherisher, Who Created-‘

(Surah Al Alaq, verse 1, the first Revelation)

Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh, my dear brothers and sisters.

The other day, I  was standing behind a mother and her 6+ year old son, going down the escalator and was appalled to see and hear what he was doing to her.

He was scolding her and angrily pointing his finger at her because she wouldn’t buy the stuff he wanted. The language that he used was just horrid and I wanted to stop him and tell his mother to never let him speak to her in that manner again. But I didn’t, because his mother was too busy texting on her phone to probably even know what I was talking about! (seeing how she ignored her son, I assumed this was a normal occurrence for her. What a pity…)

My sons used to whine about wanting things, too, when we went out shopping.The question, ‘ Mummy, can I buy…’ must be one of the most asked questions in a child’s life! And, for us parents, one of the most dreaded.

I decided I didn’t want to have to deal with this for the next 10, 15 years of my life so I set out early on to teach the boys not to expect anything when we go out. If we were going to buy groceries, I would tell them exactly what I needed to buy and that I brought the exact amount to pay for it, with no extra money to buy them anything.

Even though there were many ‘battle of wills’ at first, Alhamdulillah, in the end, the boys got the picture and stopped asking me for things every time we go out. Whining and tantrums on shopping trips soon became a distant memory as the boys got older and learnt responsibility for their own allowance money.

And you know what? Now it’s me who asks the boys, ‘Do you want to buy anything?’…Life is beautiful, Masha’Allah.

About Sharena

My experiences as mother to Adam and Daniel, wife, daughter , teacher, trainer and friend has enriched my life to the fullest. Life is a journey of small steps through love, tests and contentment; fulfilling our role as khalifah makes it even more challenging and satisfactory.
This entry was posted in Adam and Daniel, Dr Muhammad al'Mahdi, Khalifah Method, Khalifah Parenting, Laws of Learning, Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The other day…

  1. Bayah says:

    Salam Sis Cher,

    Hope you are well and healthy – I haven’t visited this blog in a while. Been trying to call your mobile that I have but got a notification that the number is not in service anymore. The sisters in UIA class miss you and so do I 🙂 If you’re free and able to connect, please contact me at the email as per this comment. Thanks, take care.

    • acespiretribe says:

      Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh, sis. May Allah bless you for your patience! I am using the same number, except just change the 012 to 017. Slowly shifting away from using Maxis now (after more than 10 years!!). Year end, I’m usually very busy with training, Alhamdulillah. Let me know how I can help you. Fi amanillah.

Leave a Reply

