For the sake of argument…

‘Read! In the name of thy Lord and Cherisher, Who Created-‘

Surah Al Alaq, verse 1, the first Revelation

Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh, my dear brothers and sisters.

Adam had bought a WW2 military magazine and I noticed he was just looking at the photos. I said to him, ‘Don’t just look at the photos; you have to read the story as well. One picture tells a thousand words but words tell a thousand stories’. (I know I’m misquoting…)

Well, Adam argued that pictures are better at telling a story and threw back a challenge at me. He said, “Okey then. Make a story of 100 words from the word ‘USAF’!”. I looked at him and asked ‘Are you sure you want to continue without making sure of your reasons to back up your argument first..?’ Then I proceeded to tell a story using just the letters USAF.

‘USAF stands for ‘United States Air Force’. It is the military in the air for the United States of America. It has the latest, hi-tech fighter jets, bombers, machines and weapons in the world. The U.S. Air Force has very skilled and experienced pilots and engineers flying its planes and operating its machines…’

I said, ‘Adam, that’s already half of the 100 words you challenged me with. Now, can you see my point about reading the whole story instead of just looking at the pictures?’

I could see that he understood my point and I told him there are words everywhere around us and that they all tell a different story each time.

But what I wanted to share here is the fact that he had a point (pictures over words), believed in his point and wanted to argue his point and even challenged me to prove my point of view. This is a good way to teach children to think with logic and reason. This is a very important skill for children to have because it will guide them away from wrongful influences and teach them to act with caution. In the world we now live in, this can even make the difference between life and death. (look at the statistics of kids kidnapped, murdered, robbed, cheated, lied to etc)

Sometimes, it’s okey to argue just for the sake of argument…

About Sharena

My experiences as mother to Adam and Daniel, wife, daughter , teacher, trainer and friend has enriched my life to the fullest. Life is a journey of small steps through love, tests and contentment; fulfilling our role as khalifah makes it even more challenging and satisfactory.
This entry was posted in Adam and Daniel, Khalifah Parenting, Laws of Learning and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

