Professor Dr. Muhammad al’Mahdi: A Tribute to an Amazing Man

All praise is due to Allah subhana wa ta’ala, Lord of the worlds.

Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh, my dear brothers and sisters.

Dr. Muhammad al'Mahdi: A Teacher and A Friend to many

Surah Al Baqarah, verse 30, “Behold, thy Lord said to the angels, ‘I will create a khalifah on earth.’

I first met Professor Dr. Muhammad al’Mahdi in 2004 in order to get some background information from him before an Islamic Outreach ABIM event, which I was emceeing and he was the guest of honour.

He was doing the 3-month intensive course at the time, preparing and training a group of volunteers in Khalifah Method and the Unified Theory of Existence, and I was invited to join in the sessions. That very first session I sat in completely changed my life!

As I sat listening to Prof (that’s my nickname for him) explaining Einstein’s Theory of Relativity, my eyes grew wider and I distinctly remember thinking, “Ohh…so that’s what it means!” I actually remember seeing a light bulb go off above my head as Prof reintroduced Einstein’s Theory through an Islamic perspective. And it was in this session that I understood more clearly the relationship between man and the parallel dimension. He made it so perfectly clear and a subsequent question to Professor Dr. Syed Naquib Al-Attas regarding this relationship a few years later helped to establish this issue more firmly in my mind.

From that day onward, I was a daily fixture at Khalifah Institute for the next 2 years. I became so eager to learn from Prof that I volunteered bringing him his breakfast on weekends just so I could have that extra time to get more knowledge from him. The man was a walking encyclopedia/dictionary/Google search engine all rolled into one package. I could feel the neurons in my brain zipping and zapping at 250 mph every time he opened his mouth to say something.

I love him dearly because, through Khalifah Method and the Learning-based Personality Theory, I was able to teach my sons how to think and make decisions using logic and reason. I love him dearly because when he reminded the world of our role as Khalifah of Allah, he was actually helping us to unearth our true potential as khalifah; to be great, to be good and to be blessed with power, success and honour and to use this great potential to help others and make a difference in this world for Allah’s sake.

Khalifah Method Premise

When a person or group is given 2 things;

  1. a positive, accurate and motivational world view (Islam understood through Al Quran and Sunnah)
  2. a good understanding of the Laws of Learning (Shaping Process; Directed Positive Influence; Reward and Punishment; Inner Speech)

then, that person or group will naturally move towards all that is good and right.

I’ve now been applying and instilling Khalifah Method with my children and with myself for five years and my sons, Adam and Daniel, remember Prof as ‘Atuk Muhammad who knows so much’. They prayed at his funeral and we still reminisce about Prof regularly (whenever the boys start to get fidgety and rowdy in a restaurant, I tell them ‘Remember what Atuk Muhammad said about eating in a restaurant? You need to be seated in your seat and speak quietly to each other’. Thank you, Prof!)

Prof didn’t just introduced Khalifah Method to the world; he introduced it in such a way that anyone who understood it would immediately want to be khalifah of Allah. And this is the legacy that Professor Dr. Muhammad al’Mahdi left the world: being excited about having the greatest job ever created!

About Sharena

My experiences as mother to Adam and Daniel, wife, daughter , teacher, trainer and friend has enriched my life to the fullest. Life is a journey of small steps through love, tests and contentment; fulfilling our role as khalifah makes it even more challenging and satisfactory.
This entry was posted in Adam and Daniel, Dr Muhammad al'Mahdi, Khalifah Method, Khalifah Parenting, Laws of Learning, Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Professor Dr. Muhammad al’Mahdi: A Tribute to an Amazing Man

  1. karim says:

    Al Fatihah. May Allah place him in Jannah.
    Thanks for reminding us of him. At least you are able to talk all about him. I was asked to stop half-way while trying to share about his last day during the KICC.
    Keep it up.

    • acespiretribe says:

      Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh.
      Alhamdulillah and thank you very much, Bro Karim, for your words. It’s rarely that we meet a person with the charisma, warmth, knowledge and clarity of Professor Dr Muhammad al’Mahdi and I feel very blessed to have met him. The knowledge that he shared with us is too important to be forgotten and I hope to continue spreading his life’s work for the sake of Allah Almighty.
      Barakallahu fiq.

  2. Jasmin Dzaferovic says:

    There are only two things on the Internet that always bring tears to my eyes. Al Fatiah recitation of Imam Al Ghamidi and picture of this man. Although I didn’t know him as others did he was my friend and I will always remember him.

    • acespiretribe says:

      Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh, Bro. Jasmin
      Alhamdulillah, it’s very nice to know you still remember him. As long as those who met and learnt from him continue to share his knowledge with others, his work will continue to make a difference in this world, Insha’Allah.
      May Allah bless you always.

  3. Pingback: 2010 in review « Acespiretribe's Blog

Leave a Reply

