Tsunami: In the eyes of a child

All praise is due to Allah subhana wa ta’ala, Lord of the worlds.

Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh, my dear brothers and sisters.

Recently, I noticed that Daniel had renewed his interest in being a doctor. As I knew he also loved architecture and buildings, I told him how the muslims in the past used to choose a site to build a new hospital.

They would leave pieces of fresh meat on several locations around the city for a few days and when they came back to check the condition of the meat, the location that had the least rotted meat was chosen. This was because that particular location had the cleanest air circulating around it, which is conducive to a healthy recovery in the hospital. Modern day hospitals have state-of-the-art ventilation systems to ensure the air in the hospital is clean.

When the Boxing Day Tsunami hit Asia in 2004, I allowed the boys to follow the news coverage on television. Daniel was standing in front of the TV watching the devastation that hit Banda Acheh. He turned to me and said, “Mummy, I want to take my doctor’s bag and go there to help them.” He was 3 ½ years old.

I am crying now as I write this because I am completely moved by the compassion and empathy shown by that beautiful 3 ½ year old boy. As he told me what he wanted to do, he was not held back by his tender age, neither was he stopped by the fact that he knew nothing about medicine. In his khalifah mind, his only thought was “I know I can do something to help them.” That was enough for him.

Looking back at the lesson Daniel taught me, I know could’ve searched my car for loose change to give to the man selling the keropok (refer to previous post, ‘The mind of a muslim is powerful’) but I felt it just wasn’t worth it. I didn’t think a few cents would make any difference to him. I was wrong. A few cents would’ve made a difference. Because I had made the effort to search for the loose change and the man would’ve seen me make the effort and maybe, just maybe, felt a little better knowing that there is someone in this world who was willing to help him out.

“Ya Rabb! Give me the wisdom and strength to be a better muslim and a kinder khalifah.” Ameen

About Sharena

My experiences as mother to Adam and Daniel, wife, daughter , teacher, trainer and friend has enriched my life to the fullest. Life is a journey of small steps through love, tests and contentment; fulfilling our role as khalifah makes it even more challenging and satisfactory.
This entry was posted in Adam and Daniel, Dr Muhammad al'Mahdi, event, Khalifah Method, Khalifah Parenting, Laws of Learning, Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

