WIIFM: What’s In It For Me?

All praise is due to Allah subhana wa ta’ala, Lord of the worlds.

Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh, my dear brothers and sisters.

This morning I heard Adam ask Daniel,’ What’s in it for me?’ and thought what could he be using that well-known sales tool for?? I found out that Daniel was trying to use something that belongs to Adam and Adam wanted to know what he could in the meantime. Daniel suggested several options for him.

As a khalifah mother, I wondered why Adam was thinking this way with his own brother; kinda like saying, ‘If I give this to you, what would you give me back in return?’ I wondered why he had to expect something in return. I didn’t wonder how he got the phrase ‘WIIFM’- that I know he heard me muttering to myself, recalling what I was taught as I was selling cosmetics 6 years ago! My boys were very much involved in my Mary Kay business and would sometimes accompany me to my sales classes.

The answer that I got after pondering these thoughts is that his world view is less on being the khalifah of Allah Almighty and more of a normal 10- year old growing up in today’s society.

I’m afraid this is an unacceptable since our family’s vision and mission is about living our lives as a khalifah and as closely as possible, according to the Will of Allah Almighty. You see, a normal 10-year old kid in today’s society is not the best example of correct behavior. Lack of respect, laziness, selfishness, interested only in video games and junk food are some of the characteristics that define a ‘normal 10- year old in today’s society’. That is definitely not what I want for Adam.

So, as a khalifah mother, I will take the necessary steps to help re-direct Adam’s world view and Insha’Allah, his true khalifah potential will shine ever greater.

About Sharena

My experiences as mother to Adam and Daniel, wife, daughter , teacher, trainer and friend has enriched my life to the fullest. Life is a journey of small steps through love, tests and contentment; fulfilling our role as khalifah makes it even more challenging and satisfactory.
This entry was posted in Khalifah Method, Khalifah Parenting, Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

