Learned Behavior: Finally!

All praise is due to Allah subhana wa ta’ala, Lord of the worlds.

Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh, my dear brothers and sisters.

We have a new kitten in the house and I’ve been training it to use the litter box but with little success. But just now, as I heard the kitten meowing and signalling it was about to pee on the floor, I immediately looked at him and said ‘No. Use the litter box.’

Guess what happened next? He immediately went to his litter box and peed in it! Finally, all my cajoling and instructing paid off. It was a classic example of learned behavior, which means ‘a behavior that is taught or acquired through experience’.

Now, if only I can get it to stop attacking my feet while I’m walking…

18/11/09: Since the incident yesterday, the kitten is now using the litter box consistently. When I saw him this morning, I automatically connected it to Khalifah Method, reminded me of the time Daniel learnt to wake up and shower without fuss and understood just how Professor Muhammad al’Mahdi taught a chicken to hop on one leg and turn around.

Boy, am I ever more convinced of the effectiveness of using Khalifah Method for behavior management and behavior modification.

About Sharena

My experiences as mother to Adam and Daniel, wife, daughter , teacher, trainer and friend has enriched my life to the fullest. Life is a journey of small steps through love, tests and contentment; fulfilling our role as khalifah makes it even more challenging and satisfactory.
This entry was posted in Khalifah Method, Laws of Learning, Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

