The Truth about Mary…

All praise is due to Allah subhna wa ta’ala, Lord of the worlds.

Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh, my dear brothers and sisters.

A few nights ago, Adam started making up words to sing along to the tune of  ‘Chim Chim Cheree’ from the movie ‘Mary Poppins’ and it was so hilarious that we all decided to watch the movie again. There’s something about this movie that just energizes the boys, getting them to sing all the songs and dance the  dances!

But if you thought ‘Mary Poppins’ is a movie for kids, think again. As I was watching, it suddenly dawned on me that this movie hides a more serious truth: the role of parents in their children’s upbringing. ‘Mary Poppins’ isn’t about two misbehaved children getting a ‘fun yet firm’ nanny but really showcases the failure of Jane and Micheal’s parents to be good parents to their children.

mary-poppins

Jane and Micheal’s father is so tied to his work and stodgy principles that he is unable to go to his children’s level and understand why they need to have fun growing up. But I really blame the mother for the children’s difficult behavior! She was so immersed in her charity/ suffrage campaign that she forgot her first priority was to her family! There was one scene where she first tried to fob off her children to the housemaid, then the cook and finally hiring the chimney sweep (Dick Van Dyke) so he could look after the children while she went out ‘to lead the ladies in song at the prison’!

Ask, yourself, how often have I or my husband behaved similarly with our children? As a mother trying to be a khalifah parent to my two boys, I must be honest with myself and admit, that I, too, did what Jane and Micheal’s parents did. In my haste to get my work done or catch an appointment or even to have time for myself, I have left my boys with my sister, or my mother or left them to the care of the maid.

But, honestly, is it really any of those people’s responsibility to look after my boys..? No, of course not. So now, I’m learning to accept that the care of my boys fall under my own, personal responsibility and that where I go or what I do, they will be a part of it.

And we can even sing along together to all the ‘Mary Poppins’ song on the way…

About Sharena

My experiences as mother to Adam and Daniel, wife, daughter , teacher, trainer and friend has enriched my life to the fullest. Life is a journey of small steps through love, tests and contentment; fulfilling our role as khalifah makes it even more challenging and satisfactory.
This entry was posted in Khalifah Parenting, Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

