“If you don’t have a worldview, then your life is about nothing.” Faris,7

All praise is due to Allah subhana wa ta’ala, Lord of the worlds.

Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi waa barakatuh, my dear brothers and sisters.

A fellow trainer, Sis Azra, asked the children participating in a program at school this question, ‘What is worldview?’ I was astounded to hear young Faris, aged 7 years old, answer,  “If you don’t have worldview, then your life is about nothing.”

Wow! Masha’Allah, this is a  question I’ve asked adolescents and even adults and they had difficulty understanding what worldview is, let alone being able to put it into words. To hear a 7 year old make such a profound statement (you have to admit his words makes sense, right?) was truly an inspiring moment for me.

Another ‘Wow!’ moment for me was when Bro. Suhair, 10 years old, read out his answer that his group voted as the winner of Challenge 1, ‘What is a khalifah?’. He said, “A khalifah is someone who helps someone who is not a muslim become a muslim.” I am not ashamed to admit that I cried, in front of everyone, when I heard his answer.

It is interesting to note that the answers from all the winners shared a common similarity: they all answered a khalifah helps others become better or helps something become better. They truly understood that being khalifah is about others, not about themselves.

There was a party after school today and a parent asked me to sit with them. I told her I was waiting for the pizza line to get shorter so I could get one for myself. A few minutes later, I turned to see the young philosopher Faris with a slice of pizza in his hand. He said he heard me say I wanted a pizza and went to get one for me! If I wasn’t already sitting down, I think my knees would’ve given way underneath me! What a truly chivalrous act from someone so young.

I noticed that all these kids, the ones who gave me my ‘Wow!’ moments, are from backgrounds where their parents play an active role in their children’s day-to-day upbringing. These are dual-income working parents yet they have organised their schedule and lifestyle to ensure their family is their number one priority. They did not leave their children’s development solely to the school.

So, to all parents out there, take charge of your own children’s life from now onwards. Let’s start believing in the true potential of our children and create opportunities for them to shine. After all, they are OUR future.

About Sharena

My experiences as mother to Adam and Daniel, wife, daughter , teacher, trainer and friend has enriched my life to the fullest. Life is a journey of small steps through love, tests and contentment; fulfilling our role as khalifah makes it even more challenging and satisfactory.
This entry was posted in Dr Muhammad al'Mahdi, event, Generasi Khalifah (Transforming Generation), Khalifah Method, Khalifah Parenting, Khalifah Way and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

