Wow! I didn’t even know it!

All praise is due to Allah subhana wa ta’ala, Lord of the worlds.

Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh, my dear brothers and sisters.

As I was researching about the principles of learning on Wikipedia, I soon realised some of the information written there was exactly the same thing I was teaching and sharing today with the staff at the Institute! Wow! I hadn’t even heard of Edward Thorndike until today. Not only that but as I read more about Robert Gagne’s Nine Events of Instruction, it suddenly hit me that I’ve been applying the same ideas in the classroom and during training. I didn’t even know it!

I wanted to share this because this happened a few hours after I had written my last post ‘I know I can! I know I can!’. To me, knowing that what I’ve been doing all these years are the same things taught in training manuals of FBI, the FAA and the U.S Air Force becomes validation for my learning. I didn’t go to university. What I’ve learnt is from books and researching the Internet, listening to public lectures, most of the time, these knowledge came as a fluke. I didn’t have a reference list of materials to refer to; I just had my logic and by word of mouth and trusted my instincts that the information was what I needed to know to help me in my work.

I sincerely believe that as long as I have the intention to learn, for the benefit of myself and others, somehow, Insha’Allah, the right knowledge will always come to me. It just makes good, old plain sense, do you agree..?

About Sharena

My experiences as mother to Adam and Daniel, wife, daughter , teacher, trainer and friend has enriched my life to the fullest. Life is a journey of small steps through love, tests and contentment; fulfilling our role as khalifah makes it even more challenging and satisfactory.
This entry was posted in Khalifah Method, Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

