Existing in a LIVING EARTH

All praise is due to Allah subhna wa ta’ala, Lord of the worlds.

Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh, my dear brothers and sisters.

Yesterday, while I was doing my grocery shopping, I realised that it was the first time I consciously choose products that were environmentally-friendly. I choose biodegradable plastic bags (made by Petronas, found in an amazing hardware store in Ampang Point), dishwashing liquid that does not pollute and bicarbonate of soda to clean kitchens and bathrooms instead of chemical cleaning products.

You know what happened next..? I saw my grocery bill increased approximately 20% more than usual. Making a conscious decision to live healthily is an expensive business. Most companies still do not have a sense of urgency to offer consumers environmentally-friendly products due to its high cost. But in the long run, these companies will be on the losing end because we, the consumers, are actively choosing products that help minimise pollution and adverse effects on the earth.

But I am satisfied with my decision even though it will mean adjusting my monthly budget and making do without certain items for me to be able to sustain the extra costs. Knowing my rubbish bag will breakdown and NOT pollute the landfill makes me feel good and it’s even made me more conscious of the rubbish that I’m throwing into the bin! Definitely the next step is to actively separate my trash into paper, plastic and glass for recycling.

The interest has been from young. I was involved with WWF-World Wildlife Fund (not World Wrestling Federation- that was Adam’s answer!) since I was in secondary school. As a khalifah and as a human being, we must be aware of how our earth is changing and what is causing those changes for us to continue to exist in a living earth. Without effort on our part, the earth will surely die a slow death and with it, humanity. Building dams that causes the rivers to dry up thus no longer able to provide water and food for animals and plants. Just imagine the chain reaction that will cause…

By the way, my sons and I have officially passed a full year without eating McDonald’s. We are more aware of choosing to stop eating McDonald’s because of healthy reasons than because of the boycott. We don’t eat any fast food, this includes KFC, Burger King, A&W; we don’t drink Coca-Cola, Pepsi or any other soft drink except for 100 Plus but only when they are sick and it is recommended by their doctor.

Adam just mentioned yesterday, ‘Mummy, we haven’t been sick for a long time now.’ Previously, the boys would fall ill at least once every month. So, even though, they don’t get the soft drinks when they go out or get to snack on Snickers, Twisties or M&M’s like other kids do, at least they know they’ve got good things inside them.

About Sharena

My experiences as mother to Adam and Daniel, wife, daughter , teacher, trainer and friend has enriched my life to the fullest. Life is a journey of small steps through love, tests and contentment; fulfilling our role as khalifah makes it even more challenging and satisfactory.
This entry was posted in Khalifah Parenting, Life, Recycle and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

