Parenting and Prayers

All praise is due to Allah subhana wa ta’ala, Lord of the worlds.

Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh, my dear brothers and sisters.

It was time for me to do my Zuhr prayers and I didn’t want to waste electricity by going into another room and switching on the air conditioning so I went into Adam and Daniel’s room which was already cool. They were playing but I asked them to do Quiet Self Control game for 10 minutes while I completed my salah.

Masha’Allah! They were very quiet and patiently waited for me to finish praying. I remember when they were younger, I used to go into a separate room to pray, locking the door behind me so they wouldn’t disturb me. But, looking back, it would have been better for me had I prayed in front of them.

I once asked a friend of mine what was the age that she started introducing her children to prayers and she said as soon as she completed her confinement period. She would put her newborn baby and her other children near to her as she prayed and it wasn’t difficult for her at all. Masha’Allah!

I believe this is the best way to write the important message of praying in children’s minds; by letting them see their parents pray from a young age. I suppose any awkwardness that occured during the fard prayer can be overcome by doing voluntary prayers instead. Allah knows best.

About Sharena

My experiences as mother to Adam and Daniel, wife, daughter , teacher, trainer and friend has enriched my life to the fullest. Life is a journey of small steps through love, tests and contentment; fulfilling our role as khalifah makes it even more challenging and satisfactory.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Parenting and Prayers

  1. Huda Engku says:

    Assalamualaikum sis,

    Children SHOULD be taught about praying early to avoid them feeling that praying is hard. When they see their parents (or any other family members) pray everyday they would get used to it, they would think that if it’s hard why their parents do it, and who knows, they might be the one asking the parents how to perform salah (because children they like to copy what adults do, they like the feel of being a grown-up). Like my sister, when she was younger, she saw all her sisters and brothers sit at their our desk when we were doing homework, so she wanted to do the same and even requested for her own desk! so I suppose the theory is the same with praying because my sister while we were praying, she followed us even though we didn’t ask her to! Now she’s 11 and once a while she wakes up for qiamullail because she sees us do it, masha Allah! Children are good at copying so we as adults (parents, siblings, grands, aunts, uncles, cousins, anyone) should set good example for them to copy.

    Wallahua’lam…

    • acespiretribe says:

      Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh.
      Thank you, may Allah bless you for sharing. Being a good qudwa’ (example) must be a priority for every parent, other adults and older siblings. Young children have an innate regard and interest for those around them and this automatically makes the child WANT to do what the other does. Life’s journey as a parent becomes easier when we set ourselves up to be good examples for our children, Insha’Allah.

Leave a comment