The Secret Pleasure of Night

All praise is due to Allah Almighty, Lord of the worlds.

Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh, my dear brothers and sisters.

It was near to 2 a.m. when I awoke and I knew I was wide awake at this early hour for one reason and one reason only: to pray. Even so, it took me an hour, tossing and turning in bed before I actually got up to take wudu’. I washed my face, brushed my teeth and took wudu’.

Then, I carefully combed my hair and spritzed some of my expensive french perfume on before covering my awra’ for prayers. I approached the prayers with this thought in my mind, ‘ I am meeting with the King of kings! If I was meeting my own Malaysian king, wouldn’t I be wearing my nicest clothes..? I have to do even more for Allah.’ My children think it’s funny that I would wear makeup and lipstick just to do prayers but since I always wear it when I’m going out and I feel prettier because of it, not wearing it for prayers would mean I beautify myself for others but not for Allah. Absolutely not! Allah Almighty said in the Quran, in Surah Al A’raf, verse 31: ‘ O Children of Adam! wear your beautiful apparel at every time and place of prayer.’

As I prayed, my senses became engulfed in a cool, sweet scent. My heart trembled and tears began falling down my cheeks and I started becoming enlightened in my prayer. How beautifully simple it was to reach this height! Subhana’Allah! There can be none more Merciful and Generous than Allah Almighty.

It reminded me of the days where I would be woken up EVERY NIGHT by an internal alarm clock around 4, 5 a.m. Even as I procrastinated about getting up, my thoughts would be filled by this hadith:

” Our Lord (glorified and exalted be He) descends each night to the earth’s sky when there remains the final third of the night, and He says: Who is saying a prayer to Me that I may answer it? Who is asking something of Me that I may give it him? Who is asking forgiveness of Me that I may forgive him? ” [Bukhari]

The outcome would always be the same: I would get up and do the night prayers (tahajjud). Something said to me once made me realise that waking up to pray in the early morning doesn’t come easily for most people and that it really is a ni’mat from Allah subhana wa ta’ala.

I found great peace and clarity during my tahajjud prayers. I experienced miracles and received thawab (reward), as well. There can be no comparison to the pleasure received when one choses to fight sleepiness and the cold, morning air (I live on a hill and sometimes pray outside on my balcony) to do tahajjud prayers. There is a sense of intimacy and closeness that one feels being alone in prayer, knowing that Allah subhana wa ta’ala is in the nearest heaven, Listening and Watching me as I tell Him my problems and confide in Him my hopes.

My sons used to wake up to the sight of me praying, either the tahajjud prayer or the Subh prayer. Adam once said to me that he always finds me in prayer when he wakes up. It’s nice to have my sons admire me for an act of worship; it will help them want to do it themselves in the future, Insha’Allah. (refer to post ‘Bandura’s Social Learning Theory’)

” Ya Rabb! Please don’t ever take this ni’mat away from me! Make me and my sons be among those who love to pray in the early mornings.” Ameen.

I

About Sharena

My experiences as mother to Adam and Daniel, wife, daughter , teacher, trainer and friend has enriched my life to the fullest. Life is a journey of small steps through love, tests and contentment; fulfilling our role as khalifah makes it even more challenging and satisfactory.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Secret Pleasure of Night

  1. yumniyusra says:

    Always regard excellence and virtues which one possesses to be the bestowal of Allah Ta’ala. Contemplate on the power of Allah and fear the possibility of the gifts being snatches away. Ponder about your faults, both internal and external so that the notion of perfection and holiness is annihilated.

    • acespiretribe says:

      Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh, my dearest sister.
      Jazakkillah for your support. You’ve helped me see that there are blessings all around me; in different forms than what I expect and that I need to always be grateful to Allah Almighty for EVERYTHING.
      May Allah always keep you in His Favour. Ameen.

Leave a Reply

