The Power of a Du’a

All praise is due to Allah subhana wa ta’ala, Lord of the worlds.

Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh, my dear brothers and sisters.

A friend of mine had a morning discussion with Allahyarham Dr. Muhammad al’Mahdi in December 2005. She was shaken by how frail he had become, the paleness of his face and how blue his lips were. Remembering a du’a that Prophet Muhammad s.a.w. would make for a very sick person, she silently recited the du’a in her heart:

I ask Allah, the Supreme, Lord of the Magnificent Throne, to cure you.” (7 times)

Our beloved Prophet Muhammad s.a.w. said that when this du’a is made and the end has not yet come for that sick person, than that sick person will be cured, Insha’Allah.

A few months later, my friend was in (A coincidence? I don’t think so) the Institute’s office when Allahyarham Dr. Muhammad al’Mahdi returned from his doctor’s appointment. With a great smile on his face, Dr. Muhammad announced the scans showed that the cancerous tumour had shrunk! Allahu Akhbar! His doctors called it a miracle. (read more in caliph.wordpress.com under Archives-February 2006 ‘Allah really does perform miracles’)

I shared this du’a with a young girl whose mother was recently diagnosed with cancer. I wanted her to feel empowered, to know that she is able to do something for her mother and not feel helpless, which is usually the case in terminal illnesses. Allah Almighty and His Messenger gave us many guidance and help through Al Quran and the Sunnah.

With my recent struggle with a weak iman and depression, I turned to a dear friend whom I knew would understand my condition. I told her what was happening to me then I asked her to make du’a for me and just leave it at that and not to worry. SubhanAllah, in less than 24 hours, the turnaround almost seemed like a miracle! My heart lifted and my doubts cleared, Alhamdulillah. I began to see again the little blessings and miracles that surrounded me. And for the first time in quite a long time, I made tahajjud prayers again.

Again, I cannot stress this more heavily; we NEED such knowledgeable people in our lives (refer to post ‘Wonderful People’). Those who love Allah and His Prophet, those who care so much for their brothers and sisters that they would do whatever necessary to help them. Their du’a must carry weight, because they are sincere in their love for others.

Thank you, Ya Allah, the Most Merciful and Most Benevolent. You have given me a great blessing in the form of those who love and care for me.

About Sharena

My experiences as mother to Adam and Daniel, wife, daughter , teacher, trainer and friend has enriched my life to the fullest. Life is a journey of small steps through love, tests and contentment; fulfilling our role as khalifah makes it even more challenging and satisfactory.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Power of a Du’a

  1. yumniyusra says:

    The Bond

    Indeed, You’ve known

    that these hearts have bonded

    forgather under Your love’s shelter

    gathering in obedience

    allied in struggling

    uphold Your order in this life

    Strengthen the bonds

    everlast the loves

    show the ways

    enlighten with your light

    which never inextinguible

    O Lord.. guide us

    broaden our hearts

    with grant of belief

    and the beauty in trusting to You

    revive us by knowing You

    give us death as the martyr in Your path

    You’re the protector and defender

    • acespiretribe says:

      Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh, my dearest sister.
      May Allah always bless and love you, sister. I am grateful to Him for your presence in my life. You are right; we do need each other.

Leave a Reply

