Allah is so… Great!

All praise is due to Allah subhana wa ta’ala, Lord of the Worlds.

Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh, my dear brothers and sisters.

Tonight’s iftar was planned as a treat for Adam and Daniel. I’m so proud of them (and of myself, too…) because I have not yet asked them, ‘ What do you want for iftar? ‘. They have accepted and eaten everything that was put in front of them, even leftovers. So, I decided to treat them to sushi at their favourite restaurant.

Unfortunately, we left the house quite late and with Maghrib looming ahead, rush hour traffic on the MRR2 and no reservations at the restaurant (!), I got in the car, made the usual travelling du’a and added this du’a;

May the roads be smooth and clear for us and may I be patient on our journey. And may we get a table at the restaurant. Ameen.”

Masha’Allah, our journey WAS smooth and clear! Eventhough MRR2 was heavily congested, Alhamdulillah, our path was open for us and all the traffic lights were green. We got to our destination in about 10 minutes and I told the boys, ‘ Make dzikr as you walk to the restaurant. Insha’Allah, we can still get a free table.’ And we did, Alhamdulillah. The restaurant was full by the time we were seated, with minutes to spare before Maghrib for us to order our food.

The food came very quickly and we ate our iftar and paid the bill. I looked at the time and saw we still had enough time to pray Maghrib at home so we got in the car, made our du’a again and Alhamdulillah, managed to pray Maghrib within it’s time. The extra du’a I made really helped me be aware of Allah’s Greatness (everything is by His Will) and also to accept whatever happens with patience. (I’m cooler and calmer driving during rush hour now- I still get stuck in traffic but at least I am patient, Alhamdulillah.)

I kept saying to myself, ‘ Allah is Great. Allah is Great.’ during the car journey because I’m just so amazed He gave us everything that we asked for. I told the boys as we were driving to the restaurant, about how Allah Almighty loves the breath of a person fasting (Adam was just complaining about having a dry and smelly mouth…) and how at the time of Maghrib, just before a person breaks his fast, Allah accepts the du’a of the fasting person and gives him what he wants. Daniel (Masha’Allah, he’s 8 1/2!) then said, ‘ But Mummy, Allah might give the person what he asked for in Jannah.’ I truly never expected his awareness to be so profound now but I am grateful to Allah subhana wa ta’ala for it.

God is Great. There is no doubt.

About Sharena

My experiences as mother to Adam and Daniel, wife, daughter , teacher, trainer and friend has enriched my life to the fullest. Life is a journey of small steps through love, tests and contentment; fulfilling our role as khalifah makes it even more challenging and satisfactory.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

