Wisdom of a Child…Thinking Logically

All praise is due to Allah subhana wa ta’ala, Lord of the Worlds.

Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh, my dear brothers and sisters.

Having being brought up reading Greek mythology, Shakespeare and classics like ‘To Kill a Mockingbird’, it was an easy decision for me to expose my own children to the same classical literature that I read at their age. But it was with some qualms that I handed Adam a collection of Greek mythology yesterday. My concern is mainly from knowing that Adam will be exposed to the ‘gods and goddesses of Mount Olympia’ and the tempting call of the Sirens as they lured ill-fated sailors to their death.

But, Alhamdulillah,  Adam’s first foray into the mythical world of classical literature was met with a no-nonsense, sensible point of view. When I asked him what he thought of the Greek mythology he was reading, he said, ‘ There are many gods and they lie a lot and then misunderstand one another and start lying some more and start to fight with eachother.’ SubhanaAllah, he could see clearly the truth behind the stories.

I remembered a verse from Al Quran where Allah Almighty said in Surah Al Mu’minun, verse 91, ‘ No son did Allah beget, nor is there any god along with Him: (if there were many gods), behold, each god would have taken away what he had created, and some would have lorded it over others! Glory to Allah! (He is free) from the (sort of) things they attribute to Him!’

One of the important objectives of Khalifah Method is to teach children to think logically and sensibly. This was something that Allahyarham Prof. Dr. Muhammad al’Mahdi stressed on when dealing with children. As a muslim parent, I could have chosen not to expose my children to these kind of literature materials, as a way to guard their iman and aqidah but I remember the advantages of having a classical literature upbringing. I did learn a lot about human nature and it did widen my knowledge about the world in general.

So, with a strong belief that Tauheed has been instilled in Adam (Allah knows best) and that he had learnt to think logically and objectively, I am comfortable to provide him with more classical literature materials in the future, Insha’Allah. But I will assess and keep track of his reading materials as a way to ensure that no element of shirk is assimilated into his mindset, Insha’Allah. May Allah subhana wa ta’ala continue to guide us onto the  Straight Path. Ameen.

About Sharena

My experiences as mother to Adam and Daniel, wife, daughter , teacher, trainer and friend has enriched my life to the fullest. Life is a journey of small steps through love, tests and contentment; fulfilling our role as khalifah makes it even more challenging and satisfactory.
This entry was posted in Adam and Daniel, Khalifah Parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

