Nick’s Guide to Surviving Ramadan

All praise is due to Allah subhana wa ta’ala, Lord of the Worlds.

Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh, my dear brothers and sisters.

My boys and I were at my sister’s house today so the boys took the opportunity to watch some cartoons. I was passing by when I did a double-take of what was being shown on Nickleodeon channel- Nick’s Guide to Surviving Ramadan! Parts of SpongeBob Squarepants and a few other cartoons were being used to “help” muslim kids survive Ramadhan.

I am offended, firstly because I do not believe Nickleodeon is an authority on such a religious matter such as fasting in Ramadhan and secondly, why should messages be written in the childrens’ minds that Ramadhan is something that needs to be survived..?

Ramadhan is and should always be a month that we welcome with open arms. A month where we experience the challenges of restraint and moderation. These challenges should not be thought as difficult or ‘need to survive’ by our muslim children but rather as something they test themselves on and reap the fruits of success, Insha’Allah.

I now face the task of rewriting the harmful messages from that bit of ‘helpful advice’ Nickleodeon has given my kids. Adam did say, ‘ They are just helping kids cope with Ramadhan.’ Well, I don’t see how painting the house red can help muslim children do that…( Check it out yourself- they really did say that!)

About Sharena

My experiences as mother to Adam and Daniel, wife, daughter , teacher, trainer and friend has enriched my life to the fullest. Life is a journey of small steps through love, tests and contentment; fulfilling our role as khalifah makes it even more challenging and satisfactory.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

