The Kampung Life

Amir playing kampung version of darts- Cool!

Amir playing kampung version of darts- Cool!

All praise is due to Allah subhana wa ta’ala, Lord of the worlds.

Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh, my dear brothers and sisters.

We travelled to Jerteh, Terengganu, to visit my aunt and nieces and nephews. When we arrived there, I was amused and impressed to see the game that my nephews were playing; the kampung version of darts! A piece of paper, with circles drawn on it and ball-point pens, without the plastic casing, used as the darts! Ingenious…

It made me realise just how much our city-bred children’s intelligence and ingenuity have actually been stunted by getting anything they ask for! Imagine how much creativity they would develop if forced to come up with their own entertainment because they know mom and dad won’t pay for it.We feel sorry for these kampung kids; I think it’s them who feel sorry for our kids for not knowing how to have fun on their own… Does this sound familiar to you, ‘Mommy, I’m bored.’ ?

Alhamdulillah, I see the boys slowly developing ingenious ways of playing now, using the materials they already have. We stayed in Cherating for a night because I was too tired to continue driving into Kuantan ( I drove so much on this trip- driving one state per day and only staying one night in each… ). We went down to the beach the next morning and I was digging sand out from a hole and Adam took my stick I was using and started twisting it in the bottom of the hole like a mixer, loosening the sand and making it easier to dig deeper. Masha’Allah. I was impressed! (I stopped myself from asking him how he knew that- I’m sure his reply would be, ‘ I read it in a book’!)

Today, Daniel showed me the Lego he made- Transformers characters using bits and pieces of Lego! It was impressive. He had no instructions and the Lego he used were discarded pieces from previous models but he made an ambulance, a truck and transformed the same pieces into robots! I’m still shaking my head in amazement.

We visited Kuala Terengganu on our way to Kuantan and as we were passing over a bridge, we saw an amazing masjid to our right. It was so interesting that we all agreed to look for the masjid. Using my instincts and relying on Allah’s subhana wa ta’ala Help, we circled the city until we found the masjid! It was called the Crystal Mosque. What a beautiful masjid, Masha’Allah. But what I loved most about it, was the boys’ excitement at finding this place. There were miniture versions of masjids from all around the world in the Taman Tamadun Islam nearby. The boys completed their prayers there and we continued our journey out of Kuala Terengganu and stopped to visit another famous masjid, the white floating mosque. (I’m not sure what the real name is)

Adam said to me a little while later, ‘ Mummy, on our next Great Malaysia Road Trip, let’s visit all the mosques on the way and if it is near time for prayers, let’s stop to do our prayers there.’ Allahu Akhbar! I knew it! I knew khalifah of Allah aren’t interested in Disneylands and Atlantis water worlds. They just needed to be exposed to an Islamic version of holidays for them to like it! Visits to mosques and family, eating minimal food and staying in cheap accommodation, there wasn’t any need to spend excess money on plane tickets and fast food and 5-star hotels. We didn’t even buy any souvenirs on this trip!

I know I’m definitely taking out my Malaysian road map and charting out the shortest and simplest routes to Jerteh. It looks like the Great Malaysian Road Trip might not be so great in the near future, after all…Insha’Allah.

About Sharena

My experiences as mother to Adam and Daniel, wife, daughter , teacher, trainer and friend has enriched my life to the fullest. Life is a journey of small steps through love, tests and contentment; fulfilling our role as khalifah makes it even more challenging and satisfactory.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

