Thank you, Allah Almighty…

An unexpected moment of taqwa from Daniel- MashaAllah!

An unexpected moment of taqwa from Daniel- MashaAllah!

All praise is due to Allah subhana wa ta’ala, Lord of the worlds.

Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh, my dear brothers and sisters.

Alhamdulillah, we reached Kuala Lumpur on the evening of the 25th of August, safe and sound. In retropect, this trip has been a kaleidoscope of experiences, emotions and awakening. Travelling the length of Malaysia with my two sons was an eye-opening experience.

As I drove on the barely-lit, single-lane roads of rural Kelantan at night, I was delighted to hear the awe and excitement in Adam and Daniel’s voices as they looked out the car windows and saw the amazing spread of stars across the night sky. Masya’Allah. I have tears in my eyes right now thinking of how blessed my sons are to have had the opportunity to be in awe of Allah’s subhana wa ta’la might and power through the creation of the stars.

Having met such wonderful people in Kelantan made me feel thankful that, though small in numbers, there still exists in our Ummah, people who do good deeds and care for others. I can’t stop thinking of that lovely lady, a Quran memorizer, who made du’a for me. I didn’t think I deserved her du’a but I am very grateful to Allah subhana wa ta’ala for giving me the opportunity to meet her.

Seeing Daniel grow spiritually on this trip made me aware just how little my contribution is to their spiritual development. It is ALL by Allah’s subhana wa ta’ala Will. I had been concerned over the past year with Daniel as I did not yet see the realisation of taqwa in his behavior and character but Alhamdulillah, on this journey I finally saw that Daniel does have Allah subhana wa ta’ala in his heart, his mind and in his speech (Allah knows best). His sentences were interspersed with “Insha’Allah” and “Alhamdulillah” and when we were on the beach, he wrote ‘I love Allah’ in the sand. SubhanaAllah.

We were on the barest of budget for this trip, spending what we had for petrol, accommodation, food and a little for sadaqah. I was impressed with the boys’ patience and attitude dealing with the basic accommodation that we stayed in ($50! and it was clean and comfortable and the Cherating inn, a well-kept secret) and the little food we had. Adam actually said, ‘ So what’s wrong with staying in a cheap place and having little food to eat??’ Nothing, Adam, nothing at all…

I’m still recovering from the effects of this trip, not so much the physical aspect but the emotional and spiritual effects it had on me. I came home calmer and clearer about who I was and what my purpose in life is. I am a servant of Allah subhana wa ta’ala and my purpose is to fulfil my role and responsibilities as His khalifah. Insha’Allah.

About Sharena

My experiences as mother to Adam and Daniel, wife, daughter , teacher, trainer and friend has enriched my life to the fullest. Life is a journey of small steps through love, tests and contentment; fulfilling our role as khalifah makes it even more challenging and satisfactory.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment