A round of of applause…

[Please read, comment and share. Thank you]

Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh, my dear brothers and sisters.

Surah Maryam, verse 96,’ On those who believe and work deeds of righteousness, will ((Allah)) Most Gracious bestow love.’

The boys and I were leaving our motel when we realised our car was blocked in, not by one car, but two! Being a city girl, my first instinct was to blast the horn until the owners of the cars came out to check. But, being in Ramadhan (and a visitor in a strange town), I quelled my instincts and politely asked a girl from a shop nearby if she knew who the owners were. She didn’t but was nice enough to ask around for me. A man from one of the buildings nearby went inside his office and asked his collegues but to no avail; no one knew how to locate the owners.

The man then got his colleague, who was parked next to me, to move his car and proceeded to tell me to move my car out via the parking space that was just vacated! I looked at him then looked at the parking space and immediately agreed. It was a ¬†torturous exercise of manoeuvring and hand-eye coordination but Alhamdulillah, we (I can’t take sole credit for it!) finally got the car out. I felt like clapping my hands for these guys.

I couldn’t imagine a scene such as this taking place back in Kuala Lumpur. It would be more likely a lot of honking, raised stress levels and maybe some hand gestures. But these guys didn’t hesitate to help me out, even removing their own car for me to manoeuvre out of my blocked parking space.

I saw an upsetting scene today on the way to the beach with my nieces and nephews. A KL-license plate car was holding up a local driver behind him and when the local driver managed to overtake him, I saw him throw a bottle of water at the car as it passed. Astarghfirullah. I felt ashamed that a fellow driver could be so discourteous on the road, especially since he was far from home.

Today’s experience showed me that humanity and brotherhood is still alive, though perhaps more so in small towns rather than the city. Maybe I just have to be in more ‘damsel in distress’ situations to see this spirit of ukhwah again. Or maybe I should just keep my eyes open for situations where I’m the one who helps others out. Insha’Allah.

About Sharena

My experiences as mother to Adam and Daniel, wife, daughter , teacher, trainer and friend has enriched my life to the fullest. Life is a journey of small steps through love, tests and contentment; fulfilling our role as khalifah makes it even more challenging and satisfactory.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

