A Matter of Trust

[Please read, comment and share. Thank you]

Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh, my dear brothers and sisters.

A friend of mine once said, ‘Life is 5% fate and 95% what you do with it’. He always is optimistic and positive (never heard him blaming Allah once) eventhough he went through almost every possible difficulties in life; a divorce, loss of his job and almost losing his house. This coming from someone who commanded a 5-figure salary (not to mention the perks), travelled the world and hob-nobbed with ‘who’s who’ of society. Yet, in all of this, he said the best thing he ever did in his life was to see his daughter marry off to a good man. They both live with him, his mother and his other daughter (who just completed her studies in Islamic banking), of course putting a strain on him financially but he wouldn’t have it any other way.

I was talking to a friend of mine who was telling me that she knew she had to make time to read Al Quran but with two kids under the age of 2, it’s been always difficult for her to do it. Or so she thought. She told me she decided to just do it and was so surprised to find things fell in place to make it easier for her to read Al Quran; putting her children to bed became easier or they fell asleep earlier.

I had to make a last minute trip to the East Coast; Kelantan, Terengganu and Pahang, to distribute the Ramadhan Charts. There was a delay in getting the Charts ready and there wasn’t enough time to courier the charts over before the start of Ramadhan. But I didn’t expect to make this trip so I didn’t have a budget for it. Two days before I’m suppose to leave, I don’t even have the money to pay for the bus ticket! I was worrying and wondering how I was going to find the money but I decided to just trust in Allah Almighty.

I was distributing the Ramadhan Charts to several places on Wednesday and one of the places I sent the charts to was the school I worked previously. Imagine my surprise when I was handed a cheque for a training program I did there earlier! Alhamdulillah! But, that was not all…A parent whom I hadn’t seen in months, who knew I did community work, gave me some money to help out with my work! Allahu Akhbar! I was flabbergasted, to say the least. I had enough money for my journey now.

All these stories that I’ve written here shows without doubt the Greatness of Allah Almighty’s Generousity and Compassion for His Servants. The fact that my friend is still positive and optimistic despite the challenges he faces shows the trust he has in Allah Almighty (Allah knows best). The fact that my other friend made the intention to start something that is pleasing to Allah Almighty and puts her trust in Allah, finds that her task becomes easier (Allah knows best). The fact that I have intended all that I do is for the sake of Allah Almighty and leaving the rest to Him shows all my hopes and trust is with Allah Almighty alone (Allah knows best). I am not afraid except that I fear whether what I have done is enough to please Allah Almighty and whether I have wronged myself in any way in the course of my service to Him.

I do not know and will only find out on the Day of Judgement. So, for now, I’m just going to make my intention, do my very khalifah best and trust in Allah subhana wa ta’ala.

About Sharena

My experiences as mother to Adam and Daniel, wife, daughter , teacher, trainer and friend has enriched my life to the fullest. Life is a journey of small steps through love, tests and contentment; fulfilling our role as khalifah makes it even more challenging and satisfactory.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

