Magic, anyone..?

[Please read, comment and share with others. Thank you]

Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh, my dear brothers and sisters.

I wanted to insert an image of a magician into this post but then thought,’ Do I really want to have that kind of message being written in my brothers’ and sisters’ minds? Absolutely not.’

I am firmly opposed to magic. Magic tricks, magic shows, magicians, movies about magic and even phrases that support the concept of magic. For example, a child asks,’Mummy, can I have some ice-cream?’. Mummy replies,’What’s the magic word..?’ How is it that a simple lesson of good manners is turned into a message being written in the child’s mind that magic can get them what they want??

Allahyarham Dr. Muhammad al’Mahdi once commented that anyone who can write about magic as well as ‘such and such’ (I’m not mentioning names but you know who I’m referring to…) surely must practice magic herself! I’ve only watched one full ‘you-know-what’ movie and it left me with anger in my heart that our young muslim children were being corrupted by such unnecessary and irresponsible knowledge! There were many elements of shirk that I have banned my sons, (who, Alhamdulillah, do not like it themselves) from watching the movies or reading the books.

Right now, I have tears in my eyes because I know there are many muslim parents who do not share my views about magic. I sincerely apologise but I have to give you nasihah. You see, Allah Almighty said in the Quran, in Surah Al Baqarah, verse 102,’…And they knew the buyers of (magic) would have no share in the happiness of the Hereafter…’. From what is said in the Holy Quran and what we see time and again from those who do magic and illusions, it is a means to trick, lie, cheat and distract us from the Truth. This is how Satan is causing muslims to stray from the True Path; by making us question Allah Almighty’s Laws and making us believe that there exist other powers besides Allah. ” O my Lord! I seek refuge with You from the suggestions of the Evil Ones.” Surah Al Mu’minun, verse 97.

Magic, in whatever form it is in, is never okey. Even fairytales. Remember Snow White? The Queen and her evil magic potion and how her desire to cause harm to Snow White was rooted in her vanity..? Well, that actually happened in real life! I once read about this ‘cheerleader mom’ who murdered a young girl who was her daughter’s rival in the cheerleading squad.

There is no rational and logical reason to continue supporting the concept of magic and illusions because all the evidence points to magic causing more harm than good. Even though I’m going to miss humming ‘Puff the Magic Dragon’ to myself, I’ll be glad to completely eradicate all traces of magic and illusions from our lives so that at least we know there is one less sin covering our hearts with black spots. Allah knows best.

About Sharena

My experiences as mother to Adam and Daniel, wife, daughter , teacher, trainer and friend has enriched my life to the fullest. Life is a journey of small steps through love, tests and contentment; fulfilling our role as khalifah makes it even more challenging and satisfactory.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Magic, anyone..?

  1. acespiretribe says:

    Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh.
    I looked down with dismay at the VCD that the boys and their baby cousin wanted to watch; it was ‘The Magic School Bus’…one of the best Science for children series in the market. I was faced with dilemma,’ Should I let them watch it because it is a good, educational program or should I refuse to let them watch it because it is called ‘The Magic School Bus’?’…

Leave a Reply

