Countdown to Ramadhan

[please read, comment and share with others. Thank you]

Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh, my dear brothers and sisters.

I had to intervene in an argument between Adam and Daniel yesterday. It was over the most trivial issue but I realised it effected the boys on a more emotional level; Adam was very stressed and Daniel was glaring at him. And guess what? I, too became upset that they (my two young khalifah) would fight with each other over something small.

Our beloved Prophet Muhammad s.a.w. said,” A Muslim is the brother of a Muslim. He neither oppresses him nor humiliates him nor looks down upon him. Piety is here – and he pointed to his chest three times. It is evil enough for a Muslim to hold his brother Muslim in contempt. All things of a Muslim are inviolable for another Muslim: his blood, his property and his honour.”[Muslim]

So, I told them to sit in bed, in a circle with our knees touching and I told them there’s only 5 days to Ramadhan. 5 days before all the devils will be chained up and locked in Hell for the next 30 days. They hate being in Jahannam so, they will do whatever they can to make us fight, cheat, lie to one another and commit sins as much as possible in the time they have left before they are locked up. [Surah Al A’raf, verse 17,’ Then will I assault them from before them and behind them, from their right and their left: nor wilt thou find, in most of them, gratitude (for Thy mercies).’]

Then, I asked the boys to forgive one another by firmly shaking each other’s hands, according to the sunnah of Prophet Muhammad s.a.w who said,‘Two muslims will not meet and shake hands without having their sins forgiven (by Allah) before they depart.’ [Abu Dawud] and I also asked them to ask salam my hand, as due my right as their mother. Alhamdulillah, I love this hadith. I’ve insisted that they apply it for all the times they argue, annoy or accidently hurt one another. I call it ‘Forgiving the khalifah way’ i.e. look straight into each other’s eyes, firmly shake hands and apologise. They are not allowed to bring up the argument, incident etc ever again or even mention it to anyone else.

This happened to two students of mine. I found them arguing with each other, one was crying. So I took them aside and asked them,’Do I need to know about this?’ and when they replied ‘No’, I just said, ‘Okey. Salam (the khalifah way) and walk away.’ A few minutes later, I saw them playing a game together! Subhana’Allah. I advocate teaching this Islamic way of apologising to all our young children (and mummies and daddies, too!). I really believe it’s one way to strengthen our nation of muslims.

Now we know Satan’s trick, we are going to be extra vigilant with ourselves to ensure our countdown to Ramadhan is smooth and sweet, Insha’Allah.

About Sharena

My experiences as mother to Adam and Daniel, wife, daughter , teacher, trainer and friend has enriched my life to the fullest. Life is a journey of small steps through love, tests and contentment; fulfilling our role as khalifah makes it even more challenging and satisfactory.
This entry was posted in event and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

