Who cares??

Hassan('s hand) with Simba the rabbit in 2007

Hassan('s hand) with Simba the rabbit in 2007

Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh, my dear brothers and sisters.

Earlier this morning, Adam and Daniel came over to me and asked how to tell the difference bewtween a grasshopper and a praying mantis. I started explaining (a mini Science lesson. I can never resist the opportunity to show off my intelligence to them; it’s so few nowadays since their intelligence has SURPASSED mine!) and asked them why. They replied,’There’s a grasshopper (they now know) in the kitchen.’ The boys then went back into the kitchen and started shooing the grasshopper out. (It’s out!)

It reminded me of the time Daniel came over and said to me,’Mummy, I’ve put a little bit of water for the ants. They’re very thirsty.’ (we were going through a dry season at the time) It is through the examples of our beloved Prophet Muhammad s.a.w. that we learn how to behave with those around us, even animals.  I think Daniel gave the water to the ants after hearing the story of how the Prophet s.a.w., during a march with the Muslim Army, instructed them to stop disturbing the nest they found in a tree because the mother bird was showing distress at losing her babies. Subhana’Allah. No wonder Allah Almighty said this about the Prophet s.a.w in the Quran, Surah Anbiya’, verse 107,’ We sent thee not, but as a mercy for all creatures.’ Prophet Muhammad s.a.w. himself said : Those who have mercy will receive the mercy of the Most Merciful. Have mercy on those who are on earth, the One in heavens will have mercy on you.” [Tirmidhi].

A few months ago, we went to the shops and parked our car outside. It had just stopped raining when we got back to our car and as we started getting in, we heard a kitten meowing. I thought,’Oh, no! We’re leaving for Dubai tomorrow.’ You see, I knew we had to take the kitten back home with us because there were no houses near the shops so we couldn’t ask around if anyone lost their kitten nor could we leave it behind, neither. So I kneeled down (in the puddle) and managed to pull the kitten out from under the car. We wrapped him up in my shawl and I drove home. As we got out of the car, my heart sank when I heard a kitten meowing. There was ANOTHER kitten in the car engine!

My neighbour, who was walking near us (a coincidence? I don’t think so), saw me holding the  first kitten in my hands and trying to find the other one, spoke up excitedly,’ That’s our kitten! That’s the kittens we lost this morning!’ I nearly fainted. You see, we got home after spending the day out and about, driving on the KESAS highway to Subang Jaya (It’s a highway!You can’t expect me to drive at 80 km/h…) So realising the kittens managed to stay (hanging on for dear life…) in the car engine, being driven around to so many places (and in the rain!) and finally arriving back to their owners, still safe and sound, is nothing short of a miracle! Allahu Akhbar!

Who cares?? A khalifah of Allah, of course. Otherwise, how else will we get to experience Allah Almighty’s Mercy and see His miracles…

About Sharena

My experiences as mother to Adam and Daniel, wife, daughter , teacher, trainer and friend has enriched my life to the fullest. Life is a journey of small steps through love, tests and contentment; fulfilling our role as khalifah makes it even more challenging and satisfactory.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

