The Power of Intention

Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh, my dear brothers and sisters.

Every experience in life is meant to be a lesson. Having to retract my post made me realise how easy it is to ‘stray’ when I forget my intention or begin  something new without having the right intention.

I am listening to a series of talks by Dr. Wayne Dyer in which he talks about the power of intention. In it, he describes intention as a force in the universe. Recalling my intention of starting this blog, everything that has happened so far has helped me keep to that intention.

The very first recollection of the power of intention which I remember, occured when I was still a teenager! I distinctly remember thinking to myself one day that the man I marry would be tall and has a hairy chest (oh, the foolishness of the very young!) Guess what? My husband is 6′ 3” and has a hairy chest! (I’m grinning as I write this…)

The second recollection I have was on the day Adam was born. We were alone in the room and as I cradled him in my arms, I looked down at him and said, ‘I will bring you up to be a good muslim’ and promptly forgot about it! It wasn’t until a few years later, after meeting Allahyarham Dr. Muhammad al’Mahdi and learning Islamic parenting from him, that I remembered that intention I had made to my son in the hospital room. I sincerely believe because of the intention I made that day, it was meant to be for me to meet Dr. Muhammad al’Mahdi (I had never heard of him prior to that first meeting) and discover the ways to bring my children up as khalifah of Allah. Allah knows best.

Yesterday, Adam said,’Mummy, I wish we could have a house near a park, with a garden to play in.’ I said to him, “Adam, change the word ‘I wish’ to ‘Insha’Allah’. Try saying it now.” ‘ Insha’Allah, we could have a house near a park, with a garden to play in’. Adam realised that by changing ‘I wish’ to ‘Insha’Allah’, his words became more of a reality than a dream. By the way, that was the first time I ever said ‘change I wish to Insha’Allah’ to the boys! I’m going to use it myself from now on (‘I wish I could lose weight to Insha’Allah, with a good meal plan and regular exercise, I could lose weight.’ Hmmm…this sounds like a positive affirmation to me. Interesting…)

As my children grow spiritually, so do I. It’s great being a khalifah mother…

About Sharena

My experiences as mother to Adam and Daniel, wife, daughter , teacher, trainer and friend has enriched my life to the fullest. Life is a journey of small steps through love, tests and contentment; fulfilling our role as khalifah makes it even more challenging and satisfactory.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Power of Intention

  1. ummukhairulikhwan says:

    The power of InsyaALLAH is often belittled. A friend,a practising Muslim, in his rush to be a perfectionist, said this: ” tak payah lah insya ALLAH, Insya ALLAH, just do it now”. I was like that too.Though I held my tongue from saying things like that, I rarely said insyaALLAH. When I said, I didn’t mean it.InsyaALLAH, with patience and love from ALLAH, I could be a Khalifah principal and a servant of ALLAH.

    • acespiretribe says:

      Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh, my dear sister.
      Thank you and may Allah bless you for your comment. Your friend (may Allah bless him) may have a point. Our culture has somewhat caused this beautiful form of intention to be used as a replacement for ‘maybe'(depending on my mood/ if I don’t have anything better to do/ if I’m not too lazy). I have a friend, whom I regard highly, who said this to me,’ When someone says ‘Insha’Allah’, I tell that person it means ‘yes’ to me.’ That was her subtle way of warning others to not use Insha’Allah as an excuse.
      Allah Almighty said in the Quran in Surah Al Kahf, verse 23-24,’ Nor say of anything, “I shall be sure to do so and so tomorrow” Without adding, “So please Allah!” (Insha’Allah).
      Insha’Allah has become part and parcel of my speech, especially since I regard it as a du’a to accomplish something I have committed myself to doing. And I find I feel very uncomfortable if I’ve said Insha’Allah but not done anything to fulfill that commitment. (writing this made me realise I have to start guarding what I say from now on else my words can be used as a witness against me if I don’t do what I’ve committed. Alhamdulillah, I needed this) Allah knows best.

Leave a Reply

