Bandura’s Social Learning Theory

Assalamualaikum, my dear brothers and sisters.

My son said this in bed just now: “Mummy, I know why young children pray. It’s because they like doing what the older people are doing.” Albert Bandura’s theory of social learning (1977) states: “Learning would be exceedingly laborious, not to mention hazardous, if people had to rely solely on the effects of their own actions to inform them what to do. Fortunately, most human behavior is learned observationally through modeling: from observing others one forms an idea of how new behaviors are performed, and on later occasions this coded information serves as a guide for action.”

How wonderful for us that we actually have a blueprint of excellent behavior in the Prophet Muhammad s.a.w.! Allah Almighty said in the Quran, Surah Al Azhab, verse 21, ‘ Ye have indeed in the Messenger of Allah a beautiful pattern (of conduct)…’ And Aisha, may Allah be pleased with her,  said: “He was a walking Quran.”  i.e. embodying the Laws of Allah Almighty in his everyday life. Teaching children Seerah (life) of the Prophet Muhammad s.a.w. is a must in education. (I initially wrote ‘Islamic education’ but then thought, ‘Only during Islamic education?’)

I often say this to parents, ‘ Don’t practice double standards in your home.’ If you want your child to have certain behavior, then you yourself must practice that behavior. How often have we asked our kids, ‘ Have you done your prayers?’ when we ourselves haven’t done it. No wonder they are not learning to love prayers- we have turned it into a task (def.- a piece of work esp unpleasant or difficult) instead of an ibadah(act of worship)!

When I ask my sons this question, ‘ Have you done your prayers?’, their khalifah of Allah reply is, ‘ Have you done yours, Mummy?’…

About Sharena

My experiences as mother to Adam and Daniel, wife, daughter , teacher, trainer and friend has enriched my life to the fullest. Life is a journey of small steps through love, tests and contentment; fulfilling our role as khalifah makes it even more challenging and satisfactory.
This entry was posted in Adam and Daniel, Khalifah Method, Khalifah Parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bandura’s Social Learning Theory

  1. yumniyusra says:

    Assalamu’alaikum Kak Sher, Alhamdulillah, I practised what you advise me to do, and ALLAH is Almighty, it really works. But it took a lot of guts just to be ALLAH’s khalifah..not thinking or being afraid of other worldly creations.The most difficult is to unlearn the bad attributes of the heart.I simply can’t squeeze mahmudah in a heart that is full of mazmumah.Thank you, sis.May ALLAH bless u.PLease pray,and guide me always.Now I really know what I WANT in my life, clearly, I want to be ALLAH’s Khalifah.

Leave a Reply

